Home Formula 3GB3 Mavlyutov wins from pole in GB3’s reversed-grid Snetterton race

Mavlyutov wins from pole in GB3’s reversed-grid Snetterton race

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Hillspeed’s Daniel Mavlyutov scored his second reversed-grid victory of the season in the final GB3 race of the weekend at Snetterton.

Mavlyutov led away from the pole at the start and remained ahead throughout the 25-minute encounter, finishing 3.687 seconds ahead of Chris Dittmann Racing’s Arthur Rogeon.

Douglas Motorsport driver Lucas Staico was third ahead Fortec Motorsports duo Jarrod Waberski and Edward Pearson, and Elite Motorsports driver Ayato Iwasaki – the top six remaining in formation throughout.

Iwasaki’s team-mate McKenzy Cresswell made great progress early on, gaining five places on the opening lap to ninth before passing Douglas driver Shawn Rashid for eighth.

He then moved up the inside of JHR Developments’ David Morales for seventh exiting Riches but, as Morales tried to defend approaching Wilsons, the pair made contact, with Morales spinning down the order and Cresswell retiring in the pitlane with damage.

Elite’s Oliver Stewart prevailed in a three-way battle with Arden VRD’s Nico Christodoulou and CDR’s Zak Taylor to finish ahead of the pair in seventh.

A thrilling battle raged behind between several of the title contenders, with JHR’s Joseph Loake holding off a late charge from Carlin VRD’s Callum Voisin for 10th, Voisin having climbed from 23rd on the grid.

Points leader Alex Dunne finished 12th, getting passed on the outside by Voisin at the Agostini hairpin.

Arden VRD team-mates James Hedley and Noah Ping – winners of the weekend’s other two contests – were 13th and 14th, while JHR’ Matthew Rees was demoted from 15th to 18th at the chequered flag by a five-second track limits penalty.

Douglas driver Tymek Kucharczyk, who was disqualified from third place in race two for a collision with Voisin, retired shortly after spinning off at Riches while attempting to pass Rees.

Carlin’s John Bennett damaged his front wing on the first lap and finished 20th.

Race result (14 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Daniel Mavlyutov Hillspeed 24m11.592s
2 Arthur Rogeon Chris Dittmann Racing +3.687s
3 Lucas Staico Douglas Motorsport +6.527s
4 Jarrod Waberski Fortec Motorsports +7.480s
5 Edward Pearson Fortec Motorsports +7.880s
6 Ayato Iwasaki Elite Motorsport +9.193s
7 Oliver Stewart Elite Motorsport +10.442s
8 Nico Christodoulou Arden VRD +11.242s
9 Zak Taylor Chris Dittmann Racing +11.616s
10 Joseph Loake JHR Developments +14.416s
11 Callum Voisin Carlin +14.550s
12 Alex Dunne Hitech GP +14.845s
13 James Hedley Arden VRD +15.465s
14 Noah Ping Arden VRD +15.978s
15 Costa Toparis Carlin +16.982s
16 Max Esterson Fortec Motorsports +17.321s
17 Gerrard Xie Hillspeed +19.120s
18 Matthew Rees JHR Developments +21.504s
19 Michael Shin Hitech GP +22.314s
20 John Bennett Carlin +57.737s
21 David Morales JHR Developments +1m06.172s
22 Souta Arao Hitech GP +1m08.416s
23 Shawn Rashid Douglas Motorsport +1m38.201s
Ret McKenzy Cresswell Elite Motorsport
Ret Tymek Kucharczyk Douglas Motorsport
Fastest lap: Arao, 1m42.213s

Championship standings
1 Dunne 241   2 Voisin 235   3 Loake 227   4 Hedley 211   5 Kucharczyk 170   6 Cresswell 158   7 Rees 158   8 Bennett 125   9 Waberski 124   10 Ping 117