Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Martins tops Eurocup pre-event test at Nurburgring, Alders absent

Martins tops Eurocup pre-event test at Nurburgring, Alders absent

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gregroy Lenormand / DPPI

The Formula Renault Eurocup held a single-day test ahead of its races at the Nurburgring this weekend, with ART Grand Prix’s Victor Martins setting the pace.

Ex-Renault junior Martins laid down the pace in the first of two morning sessions, with bad weather meaning laptimes were some 15 seconds slower in the afternoon.

He was 0.374 seconds up on Arden’s Ugo de Wilde in that first session, with Martins’ team-mate Gregoire Saucy then splitting the two in the combined classification by going fastest in the second session and ending up going just 0.022s slower than Martins.

Paul Aron made it three ART cars in the top four, while Arden’s Alex Quinn rounded out the top five.

JD Motorsport’s William Alatalo was sixth, improving his laptime but not his position on the overall timesheet in session two, while MP Motorsport-run FA Racing by Manor driver Amaury Cordeel looked more competitive after failing to set a laptime in session one.

Bhaitech’s debutant Vicky Piria, who raced in W Series last year, was the slowest driver and 3.906s off the pace.

Absent from the test and this weekend’s races is Joey Alders, whose budget to stay on at MP Motorsport after the first two rounds was results dependant, and Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Award winner Johnathan Hoggard who raced at Imola for R-ace GP.


Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m55.098s 56
2 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m55.120s +0.022s 56
3 Ugo de Wilde Arden 1m55.472s +0.374s 61
4 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix 1m55.613s +0.515s 58
5 Alex Quinn Arden 1m55.668s +0.570s 60
6 William Alatalo JD Motorsport 1m55.698s +0.600s 70
7 David Vidales JD Motorsport 1m55.955s +0.857s 69
8 Caio Collet R-ace GP 1m55.958s +0.860s 65
9 Lorenzo Colombo Bhaitech 1m56.022s +0.924s 65
10 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m56.426s +1.328s 69
11 Hadrien David MP Motorsport 1m56.446s +1.348s 68
12 Petr Ptacek R-ace GP 1m56.518s +1.420s 63
13 Reshad de Gerus Arden 1m56.864s +1.766s 60
14 Tijmen van der Helm FA Racing by Manor 1m57.001s +1.903s 62
15 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor 1m57.079s +1.981s 46
16 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech 1m57.863s +2.765s 65
17 Vicky Piria Bhaitech 1m59.004s +3.906s 54