Home Featured Martins slides to top spot in wet F3 Imola practice

Martins slides to top spot in wet F3 Imola practice

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

ART Grand Prix’s Victor Martins was fastest in FIA Formula 3’s very wet practice at Imola, which was broken up by three red flag periods.

While rain had eased up slightly for the morning session, torrential overnight rain meant the track was already soaked.

Martins who got his fastest lap in early during the 45-minute session to take top spot, heading Hitech GP’s Isack Hadjar by 0.034 seconds. Laptimes failed to improve later on in the session, and Trident’s Roman Stanek was eight tenths back in third.

Kaylen Frederick (Hitech), Rafael Villagomez (Van Amersfoort Racing), Franco Colapinto (VAR), Zane Maloney (Trident), Zak O’Sullivan (Carlin), Ido Cohen (Jenzer Motorsport) and FIA F3 returnee Oliver Rasmussen (Trident) rounded out the top 10.

The first red flag came a third of the way into practice, as Cohen was beached at Tamburello. After that, few drivers improved as conditions appeared to worsen. Hitech’s Nazim Azman, who ended up 11th, was one of a very small number to do so.

The second stoppage was caused by multiple cars going off, including Charouz Racing System’s championship returnee David Schumacher who slipped off at Rivazza. He got beached on his first lap back after missing Bahrain.

At around the same time Campos Racing’s Pepe Marti and Prema’s Jak Crawford went off, but Crawford was able to continue.

Just four more minutes of running were completed in the final 20 minutes, as shortly after the action resumed many more cars went off. MP Motorsport’s Caio Collet spun off at the Villeneuve chicane, team-mate Kush Maini aquaplaned at Acque Minerali and Campos’s Hunter Yeany shattered his rear-left suspension after running wide at Variante Alta. Red flags were waved and practice did not restart.

Prema opted to not do much running in the session, with Arthur Leclerc its only driver to set a laptime.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m50.134s 5
2 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP 1m50.168s +0.034s 6
3 Roman Stanek Trident 1m50.959s +0.825s 5
4 Kaylen Frederick Hitech GP 1m51.283s +1.149s 7
5 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m51.324s +1.190s 8
6 Franco Colapinto Van Amersfoort Racing 1m51.374s +1.240s 8
7 Zane Maloney Trident 1m51.582s +1.448s 6
8 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 1m51.772s +1.638s 9
9 Ido Cohen Jenzer Motorsport 1m51.774s +1.640s 7
10 Oliver Rasmussen Trident 1m51.917s +1.783s 5
11 Nazim Azman Hitech GP 1m52.177s +2.043s 7
12 David Vidales Campos Racing 1m52.541s +2.407s 8
13 Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing 1m52.605s +2.471s 7
14 Hunter Yeany Campos Racing 1m52.766s +2.632s 7
15 William Alatalo Jenzer Motorsport 1m53.095s +2.961s 8
16 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m53.208s +3.074s 7
17 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m53.213s +3.079s 5
18 Enzo Trulli Carlin 1m54.536s +4.402s 8
19 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1m54.557s +4.423s 7
20 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m55.388s +5.254s 5
21 Alexander Smolyar MP Motorsport 1m55.983s +5.849s 5
22 Brad Benavides Carlin 1m56.325s +6.191s 6
23 Arthur Leclerc Prema 2m01.373s +11.239s 5
24 Kush Maini MP Motorsport 2m06.241s +16.107s 5
25 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System no time 3
26 Jak Crawford Prema no time 4
27 Ollie Bearman Prema no time 4
28 David Schumacher Trident no time 1
29 Francesco Pizzi Charouz Racing System 2