Home Featured Marti takes another F3 sprint race win in Monaco

Marti takes another F3 sprint race win in Monaco

by Peter Allen

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Pepe Marti scored his second Formula 3 sprint race win in three events in the championship’s debut race in Monaco.

The Campos Racing driver gained reversed-grid pole position after Gregoire Saucy was penalised for not respecting yellow flags in qualifying, and retained the lead at the start of the race ahead of Leonardo Fornaroli.

Saucy meanwhile fought back by passing Taylor Barnard around the outside of the opening corner to get up into third position.

Behind, Jonny Edgar hit the barriers after wheel-to-wheel contact with Oliver Goethe, necessitating a safety car. In avoidance, Edgar’s MP Motorsport team-mate Mari Boya came together with Hunter Yeany, forcing both into the pits.

With some concerns over fluid leaking from the rear of Boya’s car, it was the end of lap five before the field was released from behind the safety car.

Fornaroli was initially able to stay with Marti after the restart, but the Fernando Alonso-managed Spaniard pulled away substantially in the closing stages of the 23-lap race.

He finished eight seconds clear as he became the first winner of a contemporary F3 race in Monaco since Lewis Hamilton in 2005.

Trident driver Fornaroli held off Saucy by 0.7 seconds as he scored his maiden F3 podium, with the ART Grand Prix driver reducing Gabriel Bortoleto’s championship lead to 17 points.

Franco Colapinto finished just 0.4s behind Saucy in fourth after passing Barnard on the inside of the hairpin on the first lap after the restart.

Bortoleto started and finished sixth ahead of Sebastian Montoya, while Luke Browning got ahead of Caio Collet for eighth after cutting across the inside of the first corner at the start.

After topping Friday’s qualifying session, Gabriele Mini went side-by-side with Dino Beganovic through the first corner and got ahead on the run up the hill.

He hassled Paul Aron in the middle of the race after the Estonian dropped back from Collet, but would be unable to find a way past and take the final point for 10th.

Goethe was involved in further contact that tipped Tommy Smith onto two wheels at Portier and picked up a 10-second penalty but still held on to 17th place such was the gap back to Piotr Wisnicki.

Race result (23 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 35m47.957s
2 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident +8.123s
3 Gregoire Saucy ART GP +8.835s
4 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +9.324s
5 Taylor Barnard Jenzer Motorsport +11.589s
6 Gabriel Bortoleto Trident +13.646s
7 Sebastian Montoya Hitech GP +13.946s
8 Luke Browning Hitech GP +14.579s
9 Caio Collet Van Amersfoort Racing +15.985s
10 Paul Aron Prema +17.915s
11 Gabriele Mini Hitech GP +18.439s
12 Dino Beganovic Prema +19.999s
13 Zak O’Sullivan Prema +20.939s
14 Nikola Tsolov ART GP +22.291s
15 Nikita Bedrin Jenzer Motorsport +23.258s
16 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing +24.028s
17 Oliver Goethe Trident +35.846s
18 Piotr Wisnicki PHM by Charouz +38.467s
19 Ido Cohen Carlin +40.369s
20 Christian Mansell Campos Racing +40.812s
21 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing +42.397s
22 Ollie Gray Carlin +43.720s
23 Sophia Floersch PHM by Charouz +45.145s
24 Kaylen Frederick ART GP +47.393s
25 Hugh Barter Campos Racing +50.076s
26 Alex Garcia Jenzer Motorsport +1m01.393s
27 Hunter Yeany Carlin +3 laps
Ret Roberto Faria PHM by Charouz
Ret Mari Boya MP Motorsport
Ret Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport
Fastest lap: Barter, 1m25.678s

Championship standings
 Bortoleto 63   2 Saucy 46   3 Marti 35   4 Mini 30   5 Fornaroli 28   6 Beganovic 28   7 Goethe 23   8 Aron 24   9 O’Sullivan 20   10 Colapinto 17