Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship Marcus Armstrong fastest in FIA Formula 3 practice at Sochi

Marcus Armstrong fastest in FIA Formula 3 practice at Sochi

by Ida Wood

Photo: Malcolm Griffiths / FIA F3 Championship

Marcus Armstrong beat championship leading Prema team-mate Robert Shwartzman to the top in FIA Formula 3 Championship free practice in Sochi.

It wasn’t the regular names at the top in the first half of the session, with Sauber Junior Team by Charouz’s Lirim Zendeli fighting over first place with Hitech GP’s Yifei Ye.

Trident’s Pedro Piquet then took over the lead position, before Ferrari juniors Armstrong and Shwartzman finally started setting a strong pace.

Armstrong ended the session with a 1m53.504s lap, with Shwartzman improving just before a Virtual Safety Car period to go second fastest. Piquet’s team-mate Niko Kari was third, ahead of Shwartzman’s sole title rival and team-mate Jehan Daruvala.

After briefly appearing at the top of the timesheet, Christian Lundgaard fell a second back to seventh place behind early pacesetters Ye and Zendeli.

Championship debutants David Schumacher and Charles Leong were 20th and 28th for Campos Racing and Jenzer Motorsport respectively.


Free Practice results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Marcus Armstrong Prema 1m53.504s
2 Robert Shwartzman Prema +0.328s
3 Niko Kari Trident +0.548s
4 Jehan Daruvala Prema +0.584s
5 Yifei Ye Hitech GP +0.654s
6 Lirim Zendeli Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +0.947s
7 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix +1.044s
8 Max Fewtrell ART Grand Prix +1.070s
9 Pedro Piquet Trident +1.124s
10 Juri Vips Hitech GP +1.164s
11 Raoul Hyman Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +1.274s
12 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab +1.281s
13 Felipe Drugovich Carlin +1.282s
14 Leonardo Pulcini Hitech GP +1.332s
15 Logan Sargeant Carlin +1.431s
16 Devlin DeFrancesco Trident +1.630s
17 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport +1.633s
18 Simo Laaksonen MP Motorsport +1.681s
19 Bent Viscaal HWA Racelab +1.726s
20 David Schumacher Campos Racing +1.754s
21 Teppei Natori Carlin +1.799s
22 Yuki Tsunoda Jenzer Motorsport +1.883s
23 Sebastian Fernandez Campos Racing +1.910s
24 Fabio Scherer Sauber Junior Team by Charouz +1.956s
25 Keyvan Andres HWA Racelab +2.095s
26 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing +2.634s
27 Andreas Estner Jenzer Motorsport +2.673s
28 Charles Leong Jenzer Motorsport +3.468s
29 Liam Lawson MP Motorsport +27.584s