Home Formula 4 Makino responds with third Japanese F4 win

Makino responds with third Japanese F4 win

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: FIA F4 Japanese Championship

Photo: FIA F4 Japanese Championship

Japanese F4 points leader Tadasuke Makino recorded his third win in four races.

Having been passed by Sho Tsuboi for the win in race one at Fuji, Makino was back onto the top step in race two.

The RN-S driver held off Yuichi Mikasa over the 15-lap race, finishing a second ahead.

His chief rival Tsuboi was sent into a spin in the opening lap and missed out on the podium for the first time.

For Mikasa, meanwhile, it was a maiden top-three result, while Shinnosuke Yamada added his second third-place finish of the Fuji round.

VSR Lamborghini’s Takuro Shinohara, whose previous best result was 17th, took fourth, a second up on Honda’s Mizuki Ishizaka.

Katsuhide Kaneishi took the flag in sixth, but was heftily penalised for overtaking under yellows. As such, the spot went to newcomer Musashi Nakanishi, who led KCMG’s Yuki Nemoto and Skill Speed’s Riku Hashimoto.

Tsuboi recovered to ninth, claiming the fastest lap along the way, while Shintaro Kawabata took tenth.

It was a tough race for all three international drivers in the field. FMCS champion James Munro was eliminated two laps in after making it up from 19th to eighth, Nicolas Costa finished outside the points and Doyun Hwang retired after one lap.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Tadasuke Makino RN-S 15 laps in 26:45.068
2 Yuichi Mikasa B-MAX Racing +0.918
3 Shinnosuke Yamada B-MAX Racing +6.910
4 Takuro Shinohara Garage Chabatake +9.860
5 Mizuki Ishizaka Honda FDP +10.512
6 Musashi Nakanishi NRS +12.810
7 Yuki Nemoto KCMG +13.209
8 Riku Hashimoto Skill Speed +14.475
9 Shou Tsuboi TOM’S Spirit +17.763
10 Shintaro Kawabata Succeed Sports +20.752
11 Hiroki Ohtsu Honda FDP +21.828
12 Taku Bamba Saitama Toyopet GreenBrave +25.814
13 Kazuto Kotaka TOM’S Spirit +26.510
14 Nicolas Costa VSR Lamborghini +27.149
15 Yuta Kamimura Honda FDP +28.799
16 Yuki Shiraishi Team A-One +29.841
17 Yuya Tezuka Leprix Sport +30.180
18 Tomoki Takahashi Field Motorsport +32.410
19 Tsubasa Amano Media Do Kageyama +32.826
20 Noa Satomi Le Beausset Motorsports +33.895
21 Shunsuke Kouno RS Fine +35.058
22 Satoshi Kosugi NRS +45.809
23 Kotoka Goibuchi ma with SARD +47.511
24 Junpei Kato ma with SARD +51.442
25 View Yamauchi Buzz International +51.468
26 ?Motor Mouse? Challenge Racing +52,=.097
27 ?Flying Rat? Challenge Racing +1:03.406
28 Katsuhide Kaneishi Honda FDP +1:06.031
29 Yugo Tanabe S2R +1:19.406
30 Miku Ikejima Sutekina Racing Team +1:24.848
31 Katsuaki Kubota Hanashima Racing +1:50.940
32 Tsubasa Mekaru Media Do Kageyama +2 laps
Not classified
Yuya Hiraki RS Fine +8 laps
Yoshiaki Katayama ma with SARD +12 laps
James Munro KCMG +13 laps
Ryo Yamada Garage Chabatake +13 laps
Doyun Hwang ZAP Speed +14 laps
Takashi Hata Field Motorsport +15 laps