Home Formula 3Euroformula Lukas Dunner beats Red Bull juniors to first Euroformula Open pole of 2019 at Paul Ricard

Lukas Dunner beats Red Bull juniors to first Euroformula Open pole of 2019 at Paul Ricard

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Lukas Dunner took pole for the first Euroformula Open race of 2019 at Paul Ricard, as the debuting HWA and Spiess engines dominated the top of the timesheets.

The Austrian’s pole lap came in the final minute of qualifying, preventing what looked like a Motopark domination of the session.

Former FIA European Formula 3 team Motopark had all four of its Spiess-powered drivers at the top of the times at some point during the session, with it coming down to a battle for pole between Red Bull juniors Yuki Tsunoda and Liam Lawson.

After Dunner’s surprise last minute lap, only Tsunoda had time to respond and he got within 0.026 seconds of the HWA-powered Teo Martin Motorsport driver. The Japanese driver still took the rookie pole though, with team-mate Lawson occupied third and second in the overall and rookie classifications.

Marino Sato made it three Motopark drivers in the top four, and Carlin’s Teppei Natori meant it was also a good session for Japanese drivers, with three in the top five.

Reigning BRDC British F3 champion and Linus Lundqvist were a distant 10th on their championship debut, although fared batter than other British F3 graduates Nicolai Kjaergaard and Billy Monger at Carlin, who were 14th and 19th fastest out of the 21 drivers.


Qualifying results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Lukas Dunner Teo Martin Motorsport 1m55.486s
2 Yuki Tsunoda Motopark +0.026s
3 Liam Lawson Motopark +0.264s
4 Marino Sato Motopark +0.558s
5 Teppei Natori Carlin +0.683s
6 Julian Hanses Motopark +0.754s
7 Aldo Festante Teo Martin Motorsport +0.870s
8 Guilherme Samaia Teo Martin Motorsport +0.930s
9 Christian Hahn Carlin +1.044s
10 Linus Lundqvist Double R Racing +1.322s
11 Cameron Das Fortec Motorsports +1.357s
12 Jack Doohan Double R Racing +1.444s
13 Artem Petrov RP Motorsport +1.631s
14 Nicolai Kjaergaard Carlin +1.703s
15 Calan Williams Fortec Motorsports +1.869s
16 Javier Gonzalez RP Motorsport +1.916s
17 Petru Florescu Drivex School +2.211s
18 Pierre-Louis Chovet RP Motorsport +2.480s
19 Billy Monger Carlin +3.589s
20 Rui Andrade Drivex School +3.899s
21 Dimitrios Tsimpris D.Tsimpris Motorsport +4.791s