Home Featured Louis Foster earns his fourth Indy Nxt pole in Portland qualifying

Louis Foster earns his fourth Indy Nxt pole in Portland qualifying

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Joe Skibinski

Louis Foster went fastest at the chequered flag to take pole position for the Indy Nxt race at Portland. 

The Andretti Autosport driver improved on his final lap of qualifying to knock team-mate Hunter McElrea off the top spot. 

His 1m02.6302s effort was not as quick as he had achieved in the second practice session earlier in the day, but was 0.1622 seconds quicker than anybody else could manage in qualifying.  

McElrea crossed the line after Foster but couldn’t improve on his previous best time and had to settle for second place. He had led the way through most of the session. After a flurry of changes at the top of the order early on in qualifying, McElrea set the pace ahead of HMD Motorsports’ points leader Christian Rasmussen and Foster. 

Rasmussen qualified third, 0.2813s off pole, with team-mates Kyffin Simpson, Reece Gold and Nolan Siegel in fourth, fifth and sixth. Siegel improved on his final lap to jump up the order and take sixth, although live timing continued to show him in seventh place.

Victor Franzoni was in the top seven for Juncos Hollinger Racing on his series return, with Danial Frost (HMD), Jacob Abel (Abel Motorsports) and Yuven Sundaramoorthy completing the top 10. 

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Louis Foster Andretti Autosport 1m02.6302s 6
2 Hunter McElrea Andretti Autosport 1m02.7924s +0.1622s 8
3 Christian Rasmussen HMD Motorsports 1m02.9115s +0.2813s 8
4 Kyffin Simpson HMD Motorsports 1m03.0048s +0.3746s 7
5 Reece Gold HMD Motorsports 1m03.0057s +0.3755s 7
6 Victor Franzoni Juncos Racing 1m03.2201s +0.5899s 7
7 Nolan Siegel HMD Motorsports + 8
8 Danial Frost HMD Motorsports 1m03.3212s +0.6910s 8
9 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports 1m03.4000s +0.7698s 7
10 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Abel Motorports 1m03.4406s +0.8104s 7
11 Christian Bogle HMD Motorsports 1m03.5525s +0.9223s 7
12 James Roe Jr Andretti Autosport 1m03.5550s +0.9248s 8
13 Jagger Jones Cape Motorsports 1m03.5682s +0.9380s 8
14 Ernie Francis Jr HMD Motorsports 1m03.6423s +1.0121s 7
15 Josh Pierson HMD Motorsports 1m03.6590s +1.0288s 7
16 Jamie Chadwick Andretti Autosport 1m03.7235s +1.0933s 7
17 Matthew Brabham Juncos Racing 1m03.9299s +1.2997s 8