Home Formula 4British F4 Loake leads the way in GB3 at Brands Hatch test, McNeilly fastest in F4

Loake leads the way in GB3 at Brands Hatch test, McNeilly fastest in F4

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Joseph Loake was fastest in GB3 testing on Brands Hatch’s Grand Prix layout today, ahead of his JHR Developments team-mate Matthew Rees.

The points leader bettered Rees by 0.384 seconds in the fourth and final session, with Arden VRD’s James Hedley third and Douglas Motorsport’s Tymek Kucharczyk fourth.

Hedley set the pace for most of the opening 30-minute session, setting a 1m19.678s late on. Rees was 0.054s behind, his lap having briefly moved him ahead of Hedley with five minutes remaining, while Loake was a further half-second adrift in third.

Hitech GP’s Alex Dunne led for a large part of session two with a time 0.045s shy of Hedley’s earlier benchmark before Rees went quickest with a 1m19.503s inside the final five minutes. But it was Elite Motorsport’s McKenzy Cresswell that ended the morning fastest with a 1m19.325s, while Hedley improved on his session one best to edge Loake to third by 0.033s.

Rees headed the early stages of session three with a 1m19.890s before improving by a further 0.038s. Fortec Motorsports’ Max Esterson set the best time of the day so far with 10 minutes to go, but he was quickly beaten by Kucharczyk, who ended the session 0.295s clear with a 1m18.846s. Dunne also set a personal best in third place, and Loake was again fourth.

Kucharczyk again set the early pace in session four, but was one of five drivers to not set their best lap in that session. Hedley moved to the top with a 1m18.774s, but he was beaten by both Loake and Rees inside the final 10 minutes, with Loake then improving again by half a second with his test-topping 1m18.257s.

Dunne ended the day fifth ahead of Esterson, another final session non-improver, while Cresswell did not better his morning efforts.

The first-generation Formula 4 cars of GB4 and second-generation cars of British F4 were also on track for joint sessions. Fox Motorsport’s Liam McNeilly was fastest overall, leading the GB4 times in the first three sessions. His best lap, a 1m25.195s, put him 0.259s clear of Fortec’s British F4 pacesetter Aiden Neate and 0.465s ahead of Evans GP’s Cooper Webster, the next best GB4 runner.

Fortec’s Colin Queen was a further 0.096 further, third in GB4 but 13th in the combined F4 pack. Webster beat McNeilly to the best GB4  xtime in a slower session four.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Joseph Loake JHR Developments 1m18.257s 52
2 Matthew Rees JHR Developments 1m18.641s +0.384s 44
3 James Hedley Arden 1m18.774s +0.517s 47
4 Tymek Kucharczyk Douglas Motorsport 1m18.846s +0.589s 55
5 Alex Dunne Hitech GP 1m18.974s +0.717s 49
6 Max Esterson Fortec Motorsports 1m19.141s +0.884s 49
7 John Bennett Carlin 1m19.150s +0.893s 54
8 Callum Voisin Carlin 1m19.174s +0.917s 49
9 Jarrod Waberski Fortec Motorsports 1m19.301s +1.044s 51
10 McKenzy Cresswell Elite Motorsport 1m19.325s +1.068s 53
11 Michael Shin Hitech GP 1m19.326s +1.069s 51
12 Souta Arao Hitech GP 1m19.369s +1.112s 54
13 Nico Christodoulou Arden 1m19.420s +1.163s 47
14 Costa Toparis Carlin 1m19.485s +1.228s 56
15 David Morales JHR Developments 1m19.507s +1.250s 35
16 Zak Taylor Chris Dittmann Racing 1m19.550s +1.293s 52
17 Oliver Stewart Elite Motorsport 1m19.672s +1.415s 44
18 Ayato Iwasaki Elite Motorsport 1m19.988s +1.731s 52
19 Arthur Rogeon Chris Dittmann Racing 1m20.080s +1.823s 45
20 Lucas Staico Douglas Motorsport 1m20.124s +1.867s 50
21 Edward Pearson Fortec Motorsports 1m20.336s +2.079s 52
22 Gerrard Xie Hillspeed 1m20.728s +2.471s 55
23 Daniel Mavlyutov Hillspeed 1m20.843s +2.586s 55
24 Shawn Rashid Douglas Motorsport 1m21.015s +2.758s 50
1 Liam McNeilly Fox Motorsport Gen1 1m25.195s 45
2 Aiden Neate Fortec Motorsports 1m25.244s +0.259s 41
3 Deagen Fairclough JHR Developments 1m25.396s +0.201s 34
4 Kanato Le Hitech GP 1m25.427s +0.232s 41
5 William Macintyre Hitech GP 1m25.478s +0.283s 42
6 Louis Sharp Carlin 1m24.481s +0.286s 41
7 James Higgins Fortec Motorsports 1m24.498s +0.303s 38
8 Daniel Guinchard Chris Dittmann Racing 1m25.570s +0.375s 36
9 James Piszcyk Hitech GP 1m25.618s +0.423s 37
10 Aqil Alibhai Virtuosi Racing 1m25.659s +0.464s 41
11 Cooper Webster Evans GP Gen1 1m25.660s +0.465s 42
12 Gabriel Stilp Hitech GP 1m25.665s +0.470s 39
13 Colin Queen Fortec Gen1 1m25.756s +0.561s 41
14 Dion Gowda Carlin 1m25.858s +0.663s 41
15 Jaden Pariat Argenti Motorsport 1m25.953s +0.758s 37
16 Mika Abrahams Fortec Motorsports 1m26.079s +0.884s 31
17 Jack Sherwood Chris Dittmann Racing 1m26.080s +0.885s 37
18 Jeremy Fairbairn KMR Sport Gen1 1m26.177s +0.982s 42
19 Gustav Jonsson Chris Dittmann Racing 1m26.286s +1.091s 36
20 Sid Smith Fox Motorsport Gen1 1m26.477s +1.282s 42
21 Sonny Smith JHR Developments 1m26.507s +1.312s 37
22 Josh Irfan Carlin 1m26.563s +1.368s 40
23 Noah Ping Arden VRD Gen1 1m26.847s +1.652s 44
24 Isaac Barashi Argenti Motorsport 1m27.132s +1.937s 40
25 Jack Clifford KMR Sport Gen1 1m27.299s +2.104s 40
26 Ruhaan Alva Fortec Gen1 1m27.432s +2.237s 37
27 Harry Burgoyne Jr Graham Brunton Racing Gen1 1m27.555s +2.360s 35
28 Douwe Dedecker Virtuosi Racing 1m27.776s +2.581s 38
29 Aditya Kulkarni Fortec Gen1 1m27.872s +2.677s 34
30 Patrick Heuzenroeder Argenti Motorsport 1m28.042s +2.847s 16
31 Kai Daryanani Virtuosi Racing 1m28.849s +3.654s 37
32 Rob Smith Fox Motorsport Gen1 1m30.564s +5.369s 37