Home Formula 3Euroformula Linus Lundqvist takes first Euroformula Open pole in controversial Monza qualifying

Linus Lundqvist takes first Euroformula Open pole in controversial Monza qualifying

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Linus Lundqvist and Double R Racing took their first Euroformula Open pole in qualifying for race one at Monza.

The rookie title contender’s 1m42.395s lap was 0.039s faster than Motopark’s Liam Lawson, who set his best in the final seconds of the session.

While Motopark spent much of the session in the pits before heading out together, most of the drivers were locked in a battle to get a tow. As in FIA Formula 3 Championship qualifying at the circuit last month, this led to dangerous situations with drivers going excessively slowly.

Drivex School’s Rui Andrade and Filip Kaminiarz, as well as Motopark’s Niklas Krutten, were handed stop-go penalties as a result, with Kaminiarz parking his car on the apex of Curva Parabolica and causing Fortec Motorsports’ Calan Williams to take avoiding action.

Carlin duo Teppei Natori and Nicolai Kjaergaard qualified third and fourth, ahead of Motopark’s Marino Sato and Cameron Das.

Williams beat free practice pacesetter Billy Monger (Carlin) to seventh, with Teo Martin Motorsport’s Lukas Dunner and Motopark’s Honda junior Yuki Tsunoda completing the top 10.

Indy Pro 2000 champion Kyle Kirkwood was 16th fastest with RP Motorsport for his European racing debut.


Qualifying results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Linus Lundqvist Double R Racing 1m42.395s
2 Liam Lawson Motopark +0.039s
3 Teppei Natori Carlin +0.148s
4 Nicolai Kjaergaard Carlin +0.288s
5 Marino Sato Double R Racing +0.315s
6 Cameron Das Motopark +0.339s
7 Calan Williams Fortec Motorsports +0.544s
8 Billy Monger Carlin +0.573s
9 Lukas Dunner Teo Martin Motorsport +0.650s
10 Yuki Tsunoda Motopark +0.763s
11 Jack Doohan Double R Racing +0.789s
12 Ido Cohen Carlin +0.877s
13 Christian Hahn Carlin +0.891s
14 Niklas Krutten Motopark +0.959s
15 Rui Andrade Drivex School +1.370s
16 Kyle Kirkwood RP Motorsport +1.389s
17 Lorenzo Ferrari RP Motorsport +2.035s
18 Filip Kaminiarz Drivex School +4.101s