Home Formula 4Italian F4 Leonardo Lorandi takes Italian F4 lead with Imola race one victory

Leonardo Lorandi takes Italian F4 lead with Imola race one victory

by Ida Wood

A fourth win of the season for Leonardo Lorandi at Imola has put the Bhaitech driver back in the lead of the Italian Formula 4 Championship.

Lorandi started the race in third, behind Jenzer Motorsport’s Federico Malvestiti and Prema’s Enzo Fittipaldi, the pre-race championship leader.

A strong start immediately put Lorandi on the tail of the poleman, while Fittipaldi also got passed by Malvestiti’s team-mate Giorgio Carrara after a failed return move on Lorandi.

It took four laps before Lorandi could get past Malvesititi, and once ahead he looked in control.

In the closing laps of the race a safety car was required due to an incident involving Mucke Motorsport’s Ido Cohen and Jenzer’s Oliver Rasmussen. There were two minutes left of the race when the safety car left, and Lorandi was able to put 1.291 seconds between himself and Malvestiti in the time remaining.

Carrara just held off Fittipaldi, who is now 12 points behind Lorandi in the standings.

Petr Ptacek beat Gianluca Petecof to fifth, taking the rookie class win in the process.

Mucke Motorsport duo Niklas Krutten and William Alatalo finished seventh and eighth, with Olli Caldwell and Ian Rodriguez completing the top 10.


Race results (16 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Leonardo Lorandi Bhaitech 29m45.933s
2 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport +1.291s
3 Giorgio Carrara Jenzer Motorsport +2.301s
4 Enzo Fittipaldi Prema +2.623s
5 Petr Ptacek Bhaitech +2.891s
6 Gianluca Petecof Prema +3.257s
7 Niklas Krutten Mucke Motorsport +3.655s
8 William Alatalo Mucke Motorsport +4.381s
9 Olli Caldwell Prema +4.711s
10 Ian Rodriguez DRZ Benelli +5.296s
11 Gregoire Saucy Jenzer Motorsport +5.692s
12 Diego Bertonelli Alma Racing +6.462s
13 Alessandro Famularo Bhaitech +6.891s
14 Javier Gonzalez Jenzer Motorsport +7.749s
15 Nazim Azman Jenzer Motorsport +8.628s
16 Ilya Morozov Cram Motorsport +8.811s
17 Umberto Laganella Cram Motorsport +9.446s
18 Oliver Rasmussen Jenzer Motorsport +10.279s
19 Emilio Cipriani Cram Motorsport +11.970s
20 Amna Al Qubaisi Prema +12.136s
21 Alessio Deledda Technorace +15.266s
22 Axel Gnos AS Motorsport +16.341s
23 Marzio Moretti BVM Racing +18.190s
24 Fabio Venditti Corbetta Competizioni +20.376s
25 Andrea Dell’Accio Cram Motorsport +1 lap
Ret Ido Cohen Mucke Motorsport
Ret Gastone Sampieri BVM Racing
Ret Edoardo Morricone DR Formula
Pole: Malvestiti, 1m45.098s? ? ? Fastest lap: Ptacek, 1m46.206s

Championship Standings
?Lorandi 202? ?2 Fittipaldi 190? ?3 Caldwell 133? ?4 Ptacek 104? ?5 Malvestiti 99? ?6 Carrara 78? ?7?Rodriguez 76? ?8?Frederik Vesti 68? ?9 Petecof 74? ?10?Alatalo 69