Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Lappalainen returns to FREC as Colapinto tops Monza test

Lappalainen returns to FREC as Colapinto tops Monza test

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: ACI Sport

Franco Colapinto topped the pre-event test for the final Formula Regional European Championship round at Monza, as Konsta Lappalainen announced his return to the series.

MP Motorsport driver Colapinto set the fastest lap of the day on his final lap in the fourth and final 50-minute session to beat Prema’s Dino Beganovic session three benchmark by 0.056 seconds.

Lappalainen was only 29th fastest out of 36, with the Finn being a last-minute replacement for Jasin Ferati who was injured at Mugello. He will compete as a wildcard this weekend for his father Petri’s team, and has three podiums to his name from FREC’s first two seasons. This year he has been driving for Emil Frey Racing in GT World Challenge Europe.

Beganovic and team-mate Paul Aron were often the pacesetters through testing, and Aron was just 0.016s slower than Beganovic in session three to go third overall.

G4 Racing’s Michael Belov was fourth fastest, ahead of R-ace GP duo Hadrien David and Zane Maloney were fifth.

Gabriele Mini was seventh for ART Grand Prix despite being one of four drivers not to improve on their morning laptimes, while champion team-mate Gregoire Saucy was 11th fastest.

The Prema set-up wasn’t attuned for the final session and a lack of improvement from David Vidales meant he ended up eighth overall, ahead of R-ace’s Isack Hadjar and Van Amersfoort Racing’s Mari Boya.

FA Racing’s Andrea Rosso started the day looking fast, but caused a red flag and ended up down in 27th place, ahead of Dilano van’t Hoff who headed straight from Spanish Formula 4 testing at Barcelona to join MP at Monza.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m46.313s 41
2 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m46.369s +0.056s 70
3 Paul Aron Prema 1m46.385s +0.072s 72
4 Michael Belov G4 Racing 1m46.410s +0.097s 70
5 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m46.476s +0.163s 67
6 Zane Maloney R-ace GP 1m46.701s +0.388s 62
7 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m46.706s +0.393s 59
8 David Vidales Prema 1m46.720s +0.407s 69
9 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP 1m46.798s +0.485s 64
10 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing 1m46.840s +0.527s 79
11 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m46.840s +0.527s 59
12 Alex Quinn Arden 1m46.916s +0.603s 71
13 Dexter Patterson Monolite Racing 1m47.248s +0.935s 65
14 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 1m47.259s +0.946s 49
15 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing 1m47.296s +0.983s 71
16 Patrik Pasma ART Grand Prix 1m47.373s +1.060s 58
17 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m47.491s +1.178s 69
18 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport 1m47.493s +1.180s 69
19 William Alatalo Arden 1m47.530s +1.217s 70
20 Sami Meguetounif R-ace GP 1m47.638s +1.325s 63
21 Callum Hedge G4 Racing 1m47.640s +1.327s 75
22 Nicola Marinangeli Arden 1m47.646s +1.333s 75
23 Gianluca Petecof KIC Motorsport 1m47.655s +1.342s 75
24 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m47.699s +1.386s 67
25 Ido Cohen JD Motorsport 1m47.770s +1.457s 73
26 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport 1m47.831s +1.518s 73
27 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP 1m47.871s +1.558s 43
28 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing by MP 1m47.884s +1.571s 66
29 Konsta Lappalainen KIC Motorsport 1m47.928s +1.615s 56
30 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m47.997s +1.684s 53
31 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport 1m48.157s +1.844s 67
32 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport 1m48.181s +1.868s 74
33 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP 1m48.348s +2.035s 51
34 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 1m48.479s +2.166s 62
35 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m48.700s +2.387s 70
36 Lena Buhler R-ace GP 1m48.899s +2.586s 62