Home Formula RegionalFRegional Oceania Lance Stroll takes charge in Hampton Downs Friday practice

Lance Stroll takes charge in Hampton Downs Friday practice

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Toyota Racing Series

Photo: Toyota Racing Series

Toyota Racing Series championship leader Lance Stroll posted the quickest time of the three practice sessions on Friday at Hampton Downs.

The Canadian was within the top three in each of the sessions and claimed the top spot for the day with a benchmark lap in second practice.

In session one, Giles driver Sam MacLeod led early on, but his teammate Santino Ferrucci would go on to take first. A red flag for Jamie Conroy ended the 30-minute practice early, leaving the American as the quickest driver.

ETEC’s single-seater newcomer Callum Ilott was an encouraging second, narrowly leading Stroll and Thomas Randle.

MacLeod ended up fifth, ahead of M2 drivers Brandon Maisano, Arjun Maini and Charlie Eastwood. James Munro was the top Kiwi in ninth, while Mathias Kristensen took tenth.

Maini became the first driver this weekend to go below a minute early in session two, but was soon deposed by Maisano.

Stroll then went to the top, and, while Maini improved at the last second, the Ferrari junior retook the lead after the checkered flag.

The Indian settled for second, with Maisano rounding out an all-M2 top three. Randle was fourth again, leading teammate Ilott and Brendon Leitch.

Munro in seventh was narrowly ahead of Eastwood and Nikita Mazepin, while Alfonso Celis was tenth.

Stefan Riener led the early stages of the final session when it was red-flagged due to a crash for Munro. The lead changed hands numerous times after the subsequent restart, eventually ending up with Maini in the final five minutes.

The Indian continued to improve and narrowly escaped with first, despite quick laps from runner-up MacLeod and third-placed Stroll.

Kristensen was fourth, with Ilott on an identical time and Maisano just 0.002s behind.

Eastwood took seventh, while Artem Markelov, Ferdinand Habsburg and Mazepin rounded out the top ten.

Combined session results
Pos. Driver Team S1 S2 S3
1 Lance Stroll M2 Competition 1:00.350 59.375 59.619
2 Arjun Maini M2 Competition 1:00.443 59.524 59.498
3 Sam MacLeod Giles Motorsport 1:00.387 1:00.187 59.589
4 Brandon Maisano M2 Competition 1:00.435 59.606 59.863
5 Callum Ilott ETEC Motorsport 1:00.341 1:00.039 59.861
6 Mathias Kristensen M2 Competition 1:00.672 1:00.188 59.861
7 Thomas Randle ETEC Motorsport 1:00.354 59.969 1:00.205
8 Charlie Eastwood M2 Competition 1:00.515 1:00.073 1:00.031
9 Brendon Leitch Victory Motor Racing 1:01.021 1:00.046 1:00.317
10 James Munro Giles Motorsport 1:00.624 1:00.069 1:03.046
11 Nikita Mazepin ETEC Motorsport 1:00.818 1:00.085 1:00.184
12 Santino Ferrucci Giles Motorsport 1:00.108 1:00.213 1:00.289
13 Artem Markelov Giles Motorsport 1:00.836 1:00.272 1:00.156
14 Alfonso Celis Giles Motorsport 1:00.727 1:00.162 1:00.415
15 Ferdinand Habsburg Victory Motor Racing 1:00.753 1:00.345 1:00.179
16 Dzhon Simonyan Giles Motorsport 1:01.467 1:00.209 1:00.252
17 Stefan Riener Victory Motor Racing 1:01.028 1:00.447 1:00.246
18 Damon Leitch Victory Motor Racing 1:01.162 1:00.550 1:00.355
19 Matteo Ferrer ETEC Motorsport 1:00.747 1:00.410 No Time
20 Jamie Conroy M2 Competition 1:01.205 1:00.517 1:00.544

Personal best time in bold
Best time of session in italics