Home Formula 3GB3 Kucharczyk tops Donington GB3 pre-event test as Friday’s schedule cancelled

Kucharczyk tops Donington GB3 pre-event test as Friday’s schedule cancelled

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Tymek Kucharczyk was fastest in GB3’s pre-event test for its Donington Park finale, but persistent rain led to the cancellation of the test’s second day.

Douglas Motorsport driver Kucharczyk made use of dry conditions in the afternoon on Thursday to set a 1m23.545s in the third and final session. Rodin Carlin’s points leader Callum Voisin was second, with three of his title rivals also finishing in the top five.

The morning session took place on a wet track. Title contenders Joseph Loake and Alex Dunne traded fastest lap times early on before Fortec Motorsports’ Max Esterson moved ahead with a 1m34.152s at the halfway stage.

Kucharczyk took over at the top three minutes later, but Esterson swiftly reclaimed the advantage before improving by a further 0.1 seconds with five minutes remaining. Dunne ended up fastest, a late 1m33.340s putting him 0.3s clear of Esterson, with Arden VRD’s Nico Christodoulou third.

Drivers switched to slick tyres for session two, with a dry line quickly forming on the damp track surface. Dunne and Christodoulou both had early excursions through the gravel at Redgate but continued.

James Hedley, Dunne and McKenzy Cresswell all enjoyed spells at the top as laptimes tumbled, before Christodoulou recorded a 1m24.909s just before the halfway mark to lead by 0.078s.

Matthew Rees then posted a 1m24.903s to top the times ahead of Souta Arao and John Bennett, with Hedley bringing the session to a premature end with a spin at Coppice.

Loake posted a new benchmark of 1m24.334s five minutes into session three. Dunne and then Kucharczyk lapped quicker still, with Loake improving to retake second from Dunne before a stoppage when Bennett slid into the Coppice gravel.

Kucharczyk improved by 0.1s at the resumption, with Voisin climbing to second ahead of Dunne, Rees and Loake, with Bennett the only driver to not better his session two pace. British Formula 4 race-winner Josh Irfan was 22nd on his GB3 test debut for Chris Dittmann Racing, but the 15-year-old is not old enough to race this weekend.

With newly-crowned champion Tom Mills sitting out the final GB4 round, others have a chance to shine this weekend. And it was Evans GP’s Cooper Webster who ended Thursday fastest before Friday’s total washout.

Fox Motorsport’s Liam McNeilly, who has an outside chance of overhauling Webster for runner-up in the standings, was fastest over his rival by 0.7s in the morning session, but was edged in a battle for top spot in a dry session two by Colin Queen.

All but three drivers recorded their best laps in session three, with McNeilly setting a new benchmark of 1m28.937s before Webster snatched top spot by 0.010s late on. Queen was third ahead of Lucas Blakeley, who finished in the top four in every session. Finn Harrison was the fastest of the GB4 debutants in fifth.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Tymek Kucharczyk Douglas Motorsport 1m23.545s 42
2 Callum Voisin Carlin 1m23.784s +0.239s 43
3 Alex Dunne Hitech GP 1m23.865s +0.320s 44
4 Matthew Rees JHR Developments 1m23.937s +0.392s 43
5 Joseph Loake JHR Developments 1m24.041s +0.496s 40
6 Nico Christodoulou Arden 1m24.079s +0.534s 45
7 James Hedley Arden 1m24.110s +0.565s 41
8 McKenzy Cresswell Elite Motorsport 1m24.146s +0.601s 38
9 Costa Toparis Carlin 1m24.377s +0.832s 44
10 Noah Ping Arden 1m24.396s +0.851s 43
11 Souta Arao Hitech GP 1m24.419s +0.874s 42
12 Gerrard Xie Hillspeed 1m24.573s +1.028s 42
13 Michael Shin Hitech GP 1m24.574s +1.029s 44
14 Jarrod Waberski Fortec Motorsports 1m24.593s +1.048s 46
15 Daniel Mavlyutov Hillspeed 1m24.597s +1.052s 42
16 Arthur Rogeon Chris Dittmann Racing 1m24.683s +1.138s 44
17 John Bennett Carlin 1m24.713s +1.168s 44
18 Edward Pearson Fortec Motorsports 1m24.780s +1.235s 45
19 Max Esterson Fortec Motorsports 1m24.878s +1.303s 44
20 Oliver Stewart Elite Motorsport 1m24.853s +1.308s 42
21 David Morales JHR Developments 1m24.860s +1.315s 44
22 Josh Irfan Chris Dittmann Racing 1m25.102s +1.557s 46
23 Patrick Heuzenroeder Elite Motorsport 1m25.282s +1.737s 41
24 Jack Sherwood Chris Dittmann Racing 1m25.513s +1.968s 45
1 Cooper Webster Evans GP 1m28.927s 35
2 Liam McNeilly Fox Motorsport 1m28.937s +0.010s 36
3 Colin Queen Fortec Motorsports 1m28.991s +0.064s 33
4 Lucas Blakeley KMR Sport 1m29.416s +0.489s 40
5 Finn Harrison Elite Motorsport 1m29.462s +0.535s 41
6 Sid Smith Fox Motorsport 1m29.574s +0.647s 36
7 Harry Burgoyne Jr Graham Brunton Racing 1m30.020s +1.093s 36
8 Aditya Kulkarni Fortec Motorsports 1m30.116s +1.189s 37
9 Jack Clifford KMR Sport 1m30.143s +1.216s 41
10 Zack Ping VRD 1m30.150s +1.223s 37
11 Theo Micouris Elite Motorsport 1m30.807s +1.880s 24
12 Sebastian Murray Graham Brunton Racing 1m30.864s +1.937s 39
13 Daniel Hickey Fortec Motorsports 1m31.538s +2.611s 38
14 Thomas Lee Evans GP 1m34.161s +5.234s 38