Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Antonelli loses FREC pole to Tramnitz after yellow flag violation

Antonelli loses FREC pole to Tramnitz after yellow flag violation

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRECA

Andrea Kimi Antonelli initially took pole for Sunday’s Formula Regional European Championship race at Hockenheim, but a decision from the stewards has instead handed it to Tim Tramnitz.

Newly crowned champion Antonelli topped the first qualifying group with a 1m36.798s laptime, putting him 0.011 seconds ahead of R-ace GP driver Tramnitz. In the second group, Tramnitz’s team-mate Martinius Stenshorne topped the times with a 1m36.819s lap to earn himself a spot on the front row.

But long after qualifying ended, a stewards’ decision came through saying Antonelli’s fastest lap had been deleted as he had failed to slow for yellow flags at the exit of turn 11. His second-best lap was slower than Tramnitz and Prema team-mate Rafael Camara’s best efforts, dropping him to third in the group and fifth on the grid.

Tramnitz therefore ended up taking pole by just 0.01s over Stenshorne, who had an advantage of 0.229s at the top of his group.

In Group A the top 10 were covered by 0.96s, with Trident’s Owen Tangavelou and Roman Bilinski fourth and fifth fastest.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Kas Haverkort was Stenshorne’s closest rival in Group B, and will line up fourth on the grid although he was the fifth fastest driver overall in qualifying.

There was then a gap of 0.391s to Trident’s Nikhil Bohra, who was third fastest in group, with G4 Racing’s free practice pacesetter Alessandro Giusti 0.025s slower than him to put himself eighth on the grid.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Group A Group B
1 Tim Tramnitz R-ace GP 1m36.809s
2 Martinius Stenshorne R-ace GP 1m36.819s
3 Rafael Camara Prema 1m36.987s
4 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m37.048s
5 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m37.031s
6 Nikhil Bohra Trident 1m37.439s
7 Owen Tangavelou Trident 1m37.161s
8 Alessandro Giusti G4 Racing 1m37.464s
9 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m37.342s
10 Victor Bernier MP Motorsport 1m37.495s
11 Nikita Bedrin Van Amersfoort Racing 1m37.458s
12 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m37.537s
13 Maceo Capietto R-P-M 1m37.540s
14 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m37.592s
15 Lorenzo Fluxa Prema 1m37.649s
16 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m37.687s
17 Esteban Masson Sainteloc Racing 1m37.705s
18 Tom Lebbon Arden 1m37.755s
19 Valentin Kluss Monolite Racing 1m37.769s
20 Maya Weug KIC Motorsport 1m37.762s
21 Evan Giltaire ART Grand Prix 1m38.007s
22 Noah Stromsted R-P-M 1m37.795s
23 Pierre-Alexandre Provost G4 Racing 1m38.298s
24 Matias Zagazeta R-ace GP 1m38.198s
25 Ivan Domingues Van Amersfoort Racing 1m38.299s
26 Javier Sagrera MP Motorsport 1m38.431s
27 Emmo Fittipaldi Sainteloc Racing 1m38.478s
28 Enzo Scionti Monolite Racing 1m38.997s
29 Marcus Amand ART Grand Prix 1m38.587s
30 Francisco Soldavini G4 Racing 1m39.218s
31 Santiago Ramos R-P-M 1m38.693s
32 Ivan Klymenko KIC Motorsport 1m39.442s
33 Giovanni Maschio Monolite Racing 1m38.743s