Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Spike Kohlbecker wins disrupted National FF1600 race at Snetterton

Spike Kohlbecker wins disrupted National FF1600 race at Snetterton

by Jake Williams-Smith

American rookie Spike Kohlbecker picked up his first BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 win in a shortened second race at Snetterton.

Kohlbecker fought off Ross Martin and Neil Maclennan in a five-minute dash for the flag after several safety cars and then a red flag shortened the race.

Race two began with drama before the cars even moved off the line with race one winner Rory Smith not able to take his pole position and having to start from the pits.

It wasn?t long into the first racing lap when a safety car neutralised the field to recover the B-M Racing car of Nicole Woods, the rookie coming to a stop on the Bentley straight.

The restart didn?t last much longer in comparison as FF1600 rookie and F1 Esports champion Brendon Leigh span into the barriers, which brought out the red flags.

That meant the race was cut to just five minutes?due to the time lost to recover Leigh?s car and one of the two Oldfield Motorsport cars that had also come to a halt.

Kohlbecker was set to make amends for missing out on the win in race one but Martin and Maclennan kept close company, so much so that Team Dolan driver Martin was able to squeeze past into Brundle.

The CDR man wouldn?t be denied, forcing Martin to outbrake himself into the turn two hairpin allowing the American to get back through.

A recovering Rory Smith?s day came to a premature end after tagging the back of Morgan Quinn coming onto the main straight, taking out both drivers in the process.

With the run to the line still covered by yellow flags, Martin couldn?t get past Kohlbecker and he settled for second place, with Maclennan completing the podium in third.

James Clarke made a miraculous recovery from 19th to finish fourth, while Max Marzorati took the Clubman class win in eighth place.


Race results (3 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Spike Kohlbecker Cliff Dempsey Racing 6m51.186s
2 Ross Martin Team Dolan +0.122s
3 Neil Maclennan Kevin Mills Racing +0.488s
4 James Clarke Cliff Dempsey Racing +4.739s
5 Michael Macpherson Kevin Mills Racing +4.783s
6 Jonathan Browne Cliff Dempsey Racing +5.561s
7 Jamie Sharp Team Dolan +6.051s
8 Max Marzorati Team Dolan +6.437s
9 John Svensson John’s Racing Team +12.924s
10 Pascal Monbaron John’s Racing Team +16.158s
11 Adam Quartermaine Team Dolan +26.835s
12 Scott Huntley Oldfield Motorsport +29.766s
13 Sam Street SamS Motorsport +30.072s
14 Klaus-Dieter Haeckel Haeckel Motorsport +41.654s
Ret Rory Smith B-M Racing
Ret Morgan Quinn Team Dolan
Ret Aaron Jeansonne Oldfield Motorsport
Ret Nicole Woods B-M Racing
Ret Brendon Leigh Kevin Mills Racing
Ret Henry Chart Oldfield Motorsport
Fastest lap: Kohlbecker, 2m02.218s

Championship Standings
Pro 1
Kohlbecker 61? ?2 Martin 53? ?3 Maclennan 46? ?4 Macpherson 38? ?5 Sharp 37? ?6 Smith 34? ?7 Browne 30? ?8 Clarke 24? ?9 Quinn 17? ?10 Huntley 15

Clubman 1?Marzorati 70? ?2 Svensson 54? ?3 Quartermaine 46? ?4 Monbaron 46? ?5 Haeckel 36? ?6 Street 35? ?7 Woods 22? ?8 Chart 14