Home Z - Archive seriesBritish F3 King crowned champion as Guimaraes wins race two

King crowned champion as Guimaraes wins race two

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: British F3 International Series

Fortec driver Felipe Guimaraes has secured his second victory of the British F3 season with a last-corner overtake for the lead, while Carlin’s Jordan King finished fifth to wrap up the series title.

Guimaraes started the race in sixth and methodically fought his way up the field in the first half, eventually settling into second with a five-second gap to reverse-grid poleman Spike Goddard. The Brazilian started chipping away at Goddard’s advantage and ended up right behind the T-Sport driver in the closing stages of the race. The fight for the win came down to the wire and, with an overtake in the final corner, it was Guimaraes who took the checkered flag.

Despite missing out on victory, Goddard will still have reason to celebrate as his second-place finish marks his maiden podium in main class F3 racing.

Tatiana Calderon took her first British F3 podium in third, as she held back championship contender Will Buller in the closing minutes of the race. The Northern Irishman, who was pushing to take the final podium spot, ended up making a mistake on lap 13, which saw his car in the barrier and out of the race.

As such, Carlin man Nicholas Latifi inherited fourth. King, meanwhile, cruised to fifth, after passing title rival Antonio Giovinazzi, which allowed him to mathematically secure the title ahead of the third race. The third Carlin driver, Jann Mardenborough, retired from P6 on the tenth lap.

Giovinazzi took sixth ahead of teammate Sean Gelael, with Alfonso Celis in eighth. In the National Class, Chris Vlok kept Sun Zheng at bay to take his first win, as series rookie William Barbosa rounded out the runners.

Championship standings (International Class)
Pos. Driver Team Pts.
1 Jordan King Carlin 150
2 Antonio Giovinazzi Double R Racing 120
3 William Buller Fortec 116
4 Felipe Guimaraes Fortec 103
5 Nicholas Latifi Carlin 85
6 Jann Mardenborough Carlin 77
7 Sean Gelael Double R Racing 76
8 Tatiana Calderon Double R Racing 75
9 Jazeman Jaafar Carlin 58
10 Felix Serralles Fortec 15
11 Spike Goddard ThreeBond/T-Sport 13
12 Zhi Cong Li Carlin 7
13 Alfonso Celis Fortec 5