Home Formula 4Italian F4 Paraguayan Joshua Durksen inherits Italian F4 win after penalties

Paraguayan Joshua Durksen inherits Italian F4 win after penalties

by Ida Wood

Joshua Durksen has been named as the winner of the second Italian Formula 4 race at Vallelunga after penalties for overtaking under the safety car were applied to several drivers.

Original race winner Roman Stanek, Gianluca Petecof, Oliver Rasmussen, Emidio Pesce, Axel Gnos and Dennis Hauger were all caught committing the offence and had 10 seconds added to their race time, resulting in a substantial change in the order.

Mucke Motorsport’s Durksen had finished third, the same position he finished race three from 12th on the grid, and was the greatest beneficiary of the penalties as it handed the Paraguayan his first victory. After winning in the F4 UAE championship earlier this year, he was invited to his country’s presidential palace.

Ido Cohen moved up to second place for Van Amersfoort Racing, which was not only the Israeli’s first podium but his first top 10 finish after a pointless 2018 season. Reigning Formula Academy Finland champion Mikhail Belov completed the podium, ahead? of the pre-penalty top two Stanek (US Racing) and Petecof (Prema).

See the top 20 from race two and the updated standings as of the end of the third race below.


Race two round-up (15 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Joshua Durksen Mucke Motorsport 32m15.913s
2 Ido Cohen Van Amersfoort Racing +0.301s
3 Mikhail Belov Bhaitech +1.908s
4 Roman Stanek US Racing +7.620s
5 Gianluca Petecof Prema +8.749s
6 William Alatalo Mucke Motorsport +13.402s
7 Umberto Laganella Bhaitech +13.761s
8 Niklas Krutten Van Amersfoort Racing +17.434s
9 Lorenzo Ferrari Antonelli Motorsport +25.672s
10 Dennis Hauger Van Amersfoort Racing +27.180s
11 Daniel Vebster Cram Motorsport +27.609s
12 Paul Aron Prema +28.652s
13 Nicola Mariangeli Bhaitech +28.856s
14 Oliver Rasmussen Prema +29.869s
15 Giorgio Carrara Jenzer Motorsport +32.939s
16 Lucas Alecco Roy Van Amersfoort Racing +33.213s
17 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport +42.194s
18 Filippe Ugran BVM Racing +42.701s
19 Jonny Edgar Jenzer Motorsport +42.831s
20 Jesse Salmenautio DZR Benelli +42.887s
Fastest lap: Stanek, 1m43.756s

Championship standings
?Petecof 60? ?2 Durksen 40? ?3 Belov 33? ?4 Stanek 32? ?5 Cohen 18? ?6 Roy 18? ?7?Alessandro Famularo 15? ?8?Rasmussen 14? ?9 Alatalo 12? ?10 Berets?12