Home Formula 3Euroformula Jones victorious in a thrilling F3 Open race

Jones victorious in a thrilling F3 Open race

by Gruz David


Team West-Tec’s Ed Jones picked up his third victory of the year in the Silverstone Saturday race of the F3 Open series, which was, perhaps, one of the most thoroughly entertaining events junior single-seaters have seen this year.

Although Sandy Stuvik took pole position, the start saw Nelson Mason pass Stuvik into the first corner yet the Canadian never quite managed to build a safety gap for himself. After a few laps, Stuvik put huge pressure on Mason, however, it was Jones who profited, taking advantage of one of Stuvik’s attempts and slotting in ahead of the Thai races.

It wouldn’t be for long not for long as Stuvik fought back aggressively and Alex Toril was able to overtake of them. Continuing on his charge, Toril was right on the tail of Mason, but the Spaniard made contact with the Canadian, allowing Jones to pass both of them for the race lead.

Toril and Mason were also passed by Santiago Urrutia, who, in another highlight of the race, made a great recovery after the lowly start in eighth to finish second. Championship leader and pole-sitter Stuvik finished fifth, while Yarin Stern, Hector Hurst, Vicky Piria, Alexey Chuklin and Che One Lim?picked up the remaining points as they finished in the top 10.

South Korean Lim was also the Copa class winner as the class pole-sitter Richard Gonda was taken out at the beginning of the race. Cameron Twynham and Nicholas Pohler completed the class podium.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Ed Jones Team West-Tec 29:53.433
2 Santiago Urrutia RP Motorsport +1.380
3 Nelson Mason Team West-Tec +2.175
4 Alex Toril RP Motorsport +2.751
5 Sandy Stuvik RP Motorsport +2.811
6 Yarin Stern EmillioDeVillota +4.147
7 Hector Hurst EmillioDeVillota +5.710
8 Vicky Piria BVM +7.573
9 Alexey Chuklin EmillioDeVillota +12.339
10 Che One Lim EmillioDeVillota +25.302
11 Artur Janosz Campos Racing +25.715
12 Cameron Twynham Team West-Tec +31.628
13 Nicholas Pohler DAV Racing +33.128
14 Gerardo Nieto DAV Racing +33.754
15 Andr?s Saravia EmillioDeVillota +34.372
16 Tommaso Menchini Corbetta Competizioni +41.493
17 Sean Walkinshaw Team West-Tec +42.977
18 Luca Orlandi Team West-Tec +44.399
19 Lorenzo Paggi Corbetta Competizioni +44.927
20 Denis Nagulin Campos Racing +52.212
21 Richard Gonda Drivex School +52.562
22 Trino Rojas RP Motorsport +58.118
23 Damiano Fioravanti Corbetta Competizioni +59.005
24 Huan Zhu Team West-Tec +1:00.202
25 Saud Al Faisal RP Motorsport +1:12.537
26 Valeria Carballo Campos Racing +1:13.062
Not classified
Alexandre Cougnaud RP Motorsport +9 Laps
Mario Marasca BVM +11 Laps
Igor Urien EmillioDeVillota +13 Laps
Liam Venter Team West-Tec +14 Laps
Emil Bernstorff Team West-Tec +15 Laps