Home News JHDD’s Mossman tops USFP2000 test at Road America before rain hits

JHDD’s Mossman tops USFP2000 test at Road America before rain hits

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

USF Pro 2000 and USF2000 tested at Road America on Monday, ahead of racing at the track next month.

The two series got three 45-minute test sessions each, with the higher level USFP2000 cars on track first in the morning.

Jace Denmark topped the opening session, setting a 2m03.5784s to lead a Pabst Racing 1-2-3. He was fastest by just 0.0809 seconds over Christian Brooks, with Simon Sikes 0.1129s behind in third. Jay Howard Driver Development’s Frankie Mossman was best of the rest and 0.2161s behind in fourth, and Turn 3 Motorsport’s Danny Dyzelski was the only other driver within 0.5s of Denmark. The top 10 were covered by 0.9529s.

Indy Nxt racer James Roe Jr stepped down a rung on the single-seater ladder to drive for Turn 3, and was 1.3361s off the pace in 15th place. BN Racing’s Arturo Flores was the slowest in the 18-car field, and missed session two.

Jay Howard Driver Development’s Frankie Mossman lowered the pace to 2m03.0941s in session two, going fastest by 0.337s over Dyszelski. Sikes, Brooks and Denmark (the only non-improver) were next up, and BN Racing’s Nicolas Baptiste was sixth fastest. DEForce Racing’s Mac Clark propped up the timesheet, but was only 1.3779s slower than Mossman and his best laptime would have put him eighth in session one.

Another Indy Nxt driver who appeared in the USFP2000 test was Bryce Aron, who was driving for Velocity Racing Development. He was 15th fastest after session two, and was the only driver who recorded laptimes in session three as heavy rain hit the track in the afternoon.

In USF2000, it was JHDD’s Evagoras Papasavvas who started out on top. He set a 2m10.3356s that put him on top of session one by just 0.0291s over VRD’s Max Taylor. His JHDD team-mate Michael Costello was 0.3026s behind in third, then Pabst trio Hudson Schwartz, Max Garcia and Sam Corry were 0.5355s, 0.5780s and 0.7095s respectively off Papasavvas’s pace as they completed the top six.

The afternoon rain proved even more disruptive for USF2000 then it did for USFP2000, with Exclusive Autosport’s Giovanni Cabrera the sole driver on track in sessions two and three.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Frankie Mossman JHDD 2m03.0941s 26
2 Danny Dyszelski Turn 3 Motorsport 2m03.4311s +0.3370s 25
3 Simon Sikes Pabst Racing 2m03.4695s +0.3754s 20
4 Christian Brooks Pabst Racing 2m03.5471s +0.4530s 19
5 Jace Denmark Pabst Racing 2m03.5784s +0.4843s 20
6 Nicolas Baptiste BN Racing 2m03.8206s +0.7265s 27
7 Liam Sceats TJ Speed 2m03.9828s +0.8887s 22
8 Ethan Ho Turn 3 Motorsport 2m04.0623s +0.9682s 23
9 Jorge Garciace DEForce Racing 2m04.0627s +0.9686s 24
10 Cooper Becklin TJ Speed 2m04.0661s +0.9720s 27
11 Ricardo Escotto BN Racing 2m04.1070s +1.0129s 17
12 Logan Adams Comet/NCMP Racing 2m04.2091s +1.1150s 24
13 James Roe Jr Turn 3 Motorsport 2m04.2638s +1.1697s 24
14 Nicholas Monteiro DEForce Racing 2m04.2944s +1.2003s 24
15 Bryce Aron VRD 2m04.3802s +1.2861s 36
16 Braden Eves Exclusive Autosport 2m04.4244s +1.3303s 23
17 Mac Clark DEForce Racing 2m04.4720s +1.3779s 23
18 Arturo Flores BN Racing 2m08.5261s +5.4320s 12
1 Evagoras Papasavvas JHDD 2m10.3356s 9
2 Max Taylor VRD 2m10.3647s +0.0291s 9
3 Michael Costello JHDD 2m10.6382s +0.3026s 9
4 Hudson Schwartz Pabst Racing 2m10.8711s +0.5355s 9
5 Max Garcia Pabst Racing 2m10.9136s +0.5780s 9
6 Sam Corry Pabst Racing 2m11.0451s +0.7095s 9
7 Lucas Fecury DEForce Racing 2m11.7842s +1.4486s 9
8 Maxwell Jamieson DEForce Racing 2m12.1789s +1.8433s 8
9 G3 Argyros JHDD 2m12.2329s +1.8973s 9
10 Nicolas Giaffone DEForce Racing 2m12.6921s +2.3565s 3
11 Xavier Kokai VRD 2m12.8244s +2.4888s 9
12 Patricio Gonzalez DEForce Racing 2m13.0968s +2.7612s 9
13 Carson Etter DC Autosport 2m14.1591s +3.8235s 6
14 Giovanni Cabrera Exclusive Autosport 2m17.8226s +7.4870s 25