Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup JD Motorsport locks out Eurocup front row for Imola race two

JD Motorsport locks out Eurocup front row for Imola race two

by Ida Wood

Photo: Antonin Vincent / DPPI

JD Motorsport’s William Alatalo and David Vidales left it until the very end of Formula Renault Eurocup qualifying to put themselves one-two on the grid for race two at Imola.

Single-seater debutant Vidales had followed up his race one pole and win by sitting at the top of the times for much of the second qualifying session, but as the track rubbered in late on the laptimes started to improve across the board.

R-ace GP’s Caio Collet moved to the top with a few minutes to go, with Arden’s Alex Quinn then crossing the line with a laptime that was just 0.001 seconds slower.

There wasn’t improvements on the their final efforts, with Collet actually going off-track on his, while the JD Motorsport waited until the track was at its very quickest after the chequered flag to set their bests.

This time it was Formula 4 graduate Alatalo who claimed pole, with Vidales slotting in 0.166s behind in second place.

Collet and Quinn will fill the second row of the race two grid, with ART Grand Prix’s Victor Martins in fifth.

Franco Colapinto improved to be the top MP Motorsport driver in sixth, ahead of Arden’s Ugo de Wilde and ART’s Paul Aron.

Johnathan Hoggard, who made his Eurocup debut in the first race of the weekend, showed improved pace and qualified 11th for R-ace GP.


Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 William Alatalo JD Motorsport 1m40.099s 11
2 David Vidales JD Motorsport 1m40.265s +0.166s 11
3 Caio Collet R-ace GP 1m40.282s +0.183s 10
4 Alex Quinn Arden 1m40.283s +0.184s 11
5 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m40.303s +0.204s 11
6 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m40.344s +0.245s 10
7 Ugo de Wilde Arden 1m40.433s +0.334s 11
8 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix 1m40.595s +0.496s 11
9 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m40.657s +0.558s 11
10 Petr Ptacek R-ace GP 1m40.771s +0.672s 10
11 Johnathan Hoggard R-ace GP 1m40.798s +0.699s 11
12 Lorenzo Colombo Bhaitech 1m40.814s +0.715s 11
13 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech 1m40.835s +0.736s 12
14 Tijmen van der Helm FA Racing by Manor 1m40.921s +0.833s 11
15 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor 1m41.103s +1.004s 11
16 Reshad de Gerus Arden 1m41.167s +1.068s 11
17 Joey Alders MP Motorsport 1m41.182s +1.083s 11
18 Hadrien David MP Motorsport 1m41.543s +1.444s 9
19 Mikhael Belov M2 Competition 1m41.549s +1.450s 11
20 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech 1m42.527s +2.428s 12