Home News IP2000 title contenders top Mid-Ohio test, Crawford leads UF2000

IP2000 title contenders top Mid-Ohio test, Crawford leads UF2000

by Ida Wood

Photo: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Indy Pro 2000 title contenders Danial Frost, Rasmus Lindh, Kyle Kirkwood and Parker Thompson were closely spread at the top in the mid-season Mid-Ohio test.

Exclusive Autosport driver Frost set the fastest time over the two-day test, edging Juncos Racing’s championship leader Lindh by 0.1011 seconds in the penultimate session. Lindh has been the strongest driver in the opening day of running.

That put both just clear of the resurgent Kirkwood, who won twice last time out at Road America for RP Motorsport, the pacesetter in the morning session of the second day.

Having finished runner-up in IP2000 last year and started the season with two wins in a row, Thompson only returned to the podium last weekend, and ended the Mid-Ohio test by topping the final session. He was only fourth fastest overall though, a third of a second behind Frost.

Another driver to impress was Kirkwood’s part-time team-mate Ian Rodriguez in fifth place, while successful driver and team Antoine Cameau and Turn 3 Motorsport made their first IP2000 appearance and were 11th fastest out of 12. They usually compete in Radical sportscars in America.

NACAM Formula 4 title contender Jak Crawford was fastest in the USF2000 test for DEForce Racing. Just 0.0362s covered himself, Cape Motorsports’ Braden Eves and Pabst Racing’s Hunter McElrea at the top of the timesheets.

Leading United States F4 driver Kiko Porto was fourth quickest for DEForce, still less than a tenth behind Crawford, with Pabst’s Colin Kaminsky a similarly small margin behind in fifth.

Legacy Autosport ran sophomore racing driver Timmy Paglusio, who ended up almost seven seconds off the pace.


Test results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Danial Frost Exclusive Autosport 1m16.2167s
2 Rasmus Lindh Andretti Autosport +0.1011s
3 Kyle Kirkwood RP Motorsport +0.1782s
4 Parker Thompson Abel Motorsports +0.3388s
5 Ian Rodriguez RP Motorsport +0.6050s
6 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports +0.6719s
7 Sting Ray Robb Juncos Racing +0.8320s
8 Nikita Lastochkin Exclusive Autosport +0.8593s
9 Phillippe Denes FatBoy Racing +0.9269s
10 Moises de la Vara DEForce Racing +1.2371s
11 Antoine Cameau Turn 3 Motorsport +1.4238s
12 Antonio Serravalle Pserra Racing/JHDD +1.5535s