Home Formula RegionalEurocup-3 IndyCar champion Palou’s new team fastest in Eurocup-3 testing

IndyCar champion Palou’s new team fastest in Eurocup-3 testing

by Ida Wood

Photo: Palou Motorsport / Fotocar13

The first ever test for the new Eurocup-3 championship concluded at Valencia’s Ricardo Tormo circuit today, and a new team set the pace.

In the Wednesday morning session it was Palou Motorsport’s Javier Sagrera who was fastest, setting a 1m27.778s lap to top the times by 0.137 seconds.

Palou Motorsport was launched from scratch in January by 2021 IndyCar champion Alex Palou, and is run by his father Ramon. The team is yet to announce any signings for the inaugural Eurocup-3 campaign, but through the two-day Valencia test has run GB3 podium-finisher Sagrera and Spanish Formula 4 regular Miron Pingasov.

The benchmark pace from Eurocup-3’s first day of testing was a 1m28.302s, set by Campos Racing’s Esteban Masson, and Sagrera beat that by 0.524s on Wednesday morning.

MP Motorsport’s Bruno del Pino was the only other driver to lap sub-1m28s, while four teams were represented in the top four as Drivex School’s Nick Gilkes was third fastest, 0.283s off Sagrera’s pace, and Global Racing Service’s Cenyu Han was 0.380s back in fourth.

The top nine were covered by just over eight tenths of a second, with the slowest driver being Pierre-Louis Chovet. However the Frenchman was testing in one of Drivex’s cars as part of his new role as driver coach for the team, and was building up an understanding of the car – an upgraded version of a Tatuus Formula Regional chassis – to help the drivers he will be working with this year.

Masson was ninth fastest in the morning, and set the pace in the afternoon with a 1m28.535s lap. His team-mate Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak was only 0.018s slower, and Drivex’s William Karlsson was 0.055s behind in third.

The only three drivers to go faster than they did in the morning were Masson, Karlsson and Chovet, which put the first two ninth and 10th overall in the day’s combined timesheet.

Gilkes was 0.107s back in fourth place in the afternoon session, with no other drivers able to lap within a second of Masson’s benchmark time.

Inthraphuvasak completed the most laps, doing 102 in total over the day as he completed 51 in both sessions.

Day two results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Javier Sagrera Palou Motorsport 1m27.778s 45
2 Bruno del Pino MP Motorsport 1m27.915s +0.137s 59
3 Nick Gilkes Drivex School 1m28.061s +0.283s 80
4 Cenyu Han GRS 1m28.158s +0.380s 64
5 Jose Garfias MP Motorsport 1m28.408s +0.630s 54
6 Sebastian Ogaard MP Motorsport 1m28.410s +0.632s 56
7 Francesco Braschi Campos Racing 1m28.467s +0.689s 49
8 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak Campos Racing 1m28.476s +0.698s 102
9 Esteban Masson Campos Racing 1m28.535s +0.757s 53
10 William Karlsson Drivex School 1m28.590s +0.812s 70
11 Sebastian Gravlund MP Motorsport 1m28.895s +1.117s 68
12 Miron Pingasov Palou Motorsport 1m29.001s +1.223s 53
13 Suleiman Zanfari Campos Racing 1m29.042s +1.264s 86
14 Pierre-Louis Chovet Drivex School 1m31.577s +3.799s 36