Home Featured Bedrin leads Jenzer 1-2 in F3’s final Imola test session

Bedrin leads Jenzer 1-2 in F3’s final Imola test session

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Nikita Bedrin was fastest once again in Formula 3’s final in-season test session at Imola on Wednesday afternoon.

The Jenzer Motorsport driver was fastest in both sessions on Tuesday, then second to Trident’s points leader Gabriel Bortoleto on Wednesday morning. In the afternoon he returned to the top by 0.221 seconds over team-mate Taylor Barnard.

The majority of the qualifying simulations took place early on due to rising temperatures meaning the track surface was over 40°C in the second half of the three-hour session, and the drivers who were on track were often doing longer runs.

Bedrin laid down a 1m31.577s benchmark straight away, putting him 0.180s up on Barnard 0.620s ahead of Van Amersfoort Racing’s Tommy Smith.

Trident was the only other team with cars setting laptimes at that point, and after a quarter of an hour Bedrin was still in first place and now with a 1m31.536s as the time to beat. That would go unbeaten to the end, with Barnard and Smith not improving on the laptimes they set in the first five minutes but still ending the day in second and sixth place respectively.

Only 25 of the 30 drivers had put a lap on the timesheet after half an hour, with Hitech GP the last team to send its drivers out.

While the top two positions were locked in, there was competition among Trident’s trio to be third fastest after they bettered Smith’s pace.

Bortoleto led his team-mates and was 0.480s off the pace after three quarters of an hour, with Leonardo Fornaroli in fourth until Oliver Goethe set a 1m32.085s towards the end of the first hour.

Those laptimes solidifed their place in the order, then behind Smith in sixth there was also very little change until Hitech’s Gabriele Mini set a 1m32.724s to go seventh fastest – 1.188s off Bedrin’s benchmark pace – in the third hour of running.

Mini’s team-mates Luke Browning and Sebastian Montoya jumped up to ninth and 11th in the order at a similar time, and none of the three could then improve their pace although were one of the few drivers to utilise the hotter track. When the chequered flag came out, only Mini, Montoya, Prema’s drivers and PHM Racing by Charouz’s Roberto Faria were on track.

Afternoon session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Nikita Bedrin Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.536s 47
2 Taylor Barnard Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.757s +0.221s 45
3 Gabriel Bortoleto Trident 1m32.016s +0.480s 41
4 Oliver Goethe Trident 1m32.085s +0.549s 56
5 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m32.160s +0.624s 37
6 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.197s +0.661s 34
7 Gabriele Mini Hitech GP 1m32.724s +1.188s 48
8 Mari Boya MP Motorsport 1m32.886s +1.350s 45
9 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m33.034s +1.498s 43
10 Alex Garcia Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.122s +1.586s 47
11 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.309s +1.773s 20
12 Sebastian Montoya Hitech GP 1m33.533s +1.997s 49
13 Hunter Yeany Carlin 1m33.538s +2.002s 43
14 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m33.540s +2.004s 25
15 Ollie Gray Carlin 1m33.557s +2.021s 34
16 Sophia Floersch PHM by Charouz 1m33.589s +2.053s 42
17 Piotr Wisnicki PHM by Charouz 1m33.979s +2.443s 31
18 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m34.475s +2.939s 30
19 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix 1m34.604s +3.068s 61
20 Hugh Barter Campos Racing 1m34.648s +3.112s 42
21 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m34.686s +3.150s 63
22 Roberto Faria PHM by Charouz 1m34.698s +3.162s 30
23 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m34.758s +3.222s 44
24 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m34.772s +3.236s 57
25 Zak O’Sullivan Prema 1m34.774s +3.238s 66
26 Christian Mansell Campos Racing 1m34.984s +3.448s 53
27 Kaylen Frederick ART Grand Prix 1m35.107s +3.571s 60
28 Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport 1m35.271s +3.735s 51
29 Paul Aron Prema 1m35.381s +3.845s 54
30 Caio Collet Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.387s +3.851s 63