Home Formula 4French F4 Honda junior Kato gets French F4 lead with Ledenon race three win

Honda junior Kato gets French F4 lead with Ledenon race three win

by Ida Wood

Photo: FFSA Academy

Honda junior Taito Kato took a lights-to-flag win in French Formula 4’s third race at Ledenon to move into the points lead.

Kato made a great start from pole to have a gap to the chasing pack before reaching turn one for the first time, while Chester Kieffer went side-by-side with Jules Caranta to take second place.

Yani Stevenheydens, who started fifth, also got past Caranta and the top four quickly sprinted away.

Kato’s lead howevered betwen 0.5 and 0.7 seconds for most of the race, only putting a second between himself and Kieffer with two laps to go.

Stevenheydens started to drop back on lap nine, and was 2.9s behind by lap 11. On the next lap he lost third to Caranta, who pulled off a great dummy move at the Carrierrasse hairpin. However he similarly lacked the pace of the two, and finished 3.506s behind in third.

Behind Stevenheydens was a lonely Jules Roussel in fifth, then Augustin Bernier, Rayan Caretti and Alex O’Grady. Their positions were all settled on the opening lap.

Race two winner Frank Porte Ruiz held ninth place until lap 14 when he ended his race in the pits with a problem, and Jason Leung had been in 10th after passing Arthur Dorison on lap two. Dylan Estre demoted Dorison to 12th a lap later, but late in the race their order shuffled around and Dorison got up to ninth ahead of Estre and Leung. A five-second penalty for track limits abuse then dropped Leung to 15th.

The only official retiree was Mathilda Paatz, who spent most of the race in the pits, although neither Porte Ruiz or Karel Schulz saw the chequered flag.

Race results (16 laps)
Pos Driver Time
1 Taito Kato 21m30.088s
2 Chester Kieffer +1.178s
3 Jules Caranta +3.506s
4 Yani Stevenheydens +4.609s
5 Jules Roussel +7.564s
6 Augustin Bernier +11.067s
7 Rayan Caretti +15.687s
8 Alex O’Grady +18.543s
9 Arthur Dorison +23.348s
10 Dylan Estre +24.889s
11 Montego Maassen +27.092s
12 Enzo Caldaras +27.272s
13 Louis Schlesser +28.736s
14 Gabriel Doyle-Parfait +29.256s
15 Jason Leung +31.847s
16 Leonardo Megna +34.336s
17 Edouard Borgna +35.141s
18 Arjun Chheda +41.242s
19 Romeo Leurs +42.827s
20 Tom Le Brech +43.610s
21 Paul Roques +46.059s
22 Alexandre Munoz +47.116s
Ret Frank Porte Ruiz
Ret Karel Schulz
Ret Mathilda Paatz
Fastest lap: Caranta, 1m19.866s

Championship standings
1 Kato 83   2 Stevenheydens 74   3 Caranta 73   4 Kieffer 58   5 Caretti 52   6 Megna 20   7 Roussel 20   8 Porte Ruiz 19   9 Bernier 17   10 Leung 15