Home News Ho wins, Nael rises from 30th to 18th in Spanish F4 race two

Ho wins, Nael rises from 30th to 18th in Spanish F4 race two

by Ida Wood

Photo: Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

Campos Racing’s Christian Ho won the penultimate race of the Spanish Formula 4 season at Barcelona.

Ho made a strong start from pole, and Enzo Deligny resisted an attack from Valerio Rinicella into turn one. A few corners later they were reducing their speed as the safety car was summoned due to an incident at turn two that had eliminated Rodin Carlin’s Alex Ninovic as well as Monlau Motorsport’s Fernando Barrichello, Lin Hodenius and Ricardo Gracia who had spun after starting sixth.

Racing did not resume until lap five of 14, and Rinicella got fiesty at turn one again but stayed in third place as Pedro Clerot passed Matteo De Palo for fifth.

On lap eight De Palo profited from an error by Clerot to get close to him early in the lap and he then dived down his inside at turn 10. However he went too deep and Clerot slipped straight back past.

Chasing them was Carlin’s Noah Lisle, but he then crashed out at turn one on lap 10. Drivex School’s Maxi Restrepo got spun around at turn 10, and when trying to get his car facing the right way again he instead spun it into the gravel. Marshals helped get him back onto the track, but the safety car was called out on lap 11 while that and the recovery of Lisle’s car occurred.

The restart took place on the penultimate lap and Ho pulled away to win while Clerot passed Campos’s Noah Stromsted for fourth at turn two. He almost hit Rinicella as he attempted a move at turn five, then had to switch focus to defending for the remaining lap-and-a-half.

Newly crowned champion Theophile Nael started 30th and gained five spots before the first safety car period, and was in 21st when it made its second appearance. The Sainteloc Racing driver managed to get up to 18th after the last restart.

Race results (14 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Christian Ho Campos Racing 28m09.034s
2 Enzo Deligny Campos Racing +1.125s
3 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +2.016s
4 Pedro Clerot MP Motorsport +3.923s
5 Noah Stromsted Campos Racing +4.251s
6 Matteo De Palo Campos Racing +4.703s
7 Hiyu Yamakoshi Tecnicar Motorsport +7.539s
8 Andres Cardenas Campos Racing +7.894s
9 Flavio Olivieri Cram Motorsport +8.281s
10 Pablo Sarrazin Monlau Motorsport +8.878s
11 Alvise Rodella MP Motorsport +9.675s
12 Keanu Al Azhari MP Motorsport +10.112s
13 Theodor Jensen Sainteloc Racing +10.686s
14 Luciano Morano Sainteloc Racing +11.200s
15 Daniel Macia GRS +11.273s
16 Akshay Bohra MP Motorsport +11.608s
17 Griffin Peebles Tecnicar Motorsport +12.188s
18 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing +12.782s
19 Jesse Carrasquedo Campos Racing +13.214s
20 Federico Al Rifai Carlin +13.517s
21 Isaac Barashi GRS +15.528s
22 Filippo Fiorentino Cram Motorsport +15.765s
23 Juan Cota Drivex School +16.106s
24 Alexander Abkhazava Drivex School +17.461s
25 Gabriel Gomez Cram Motorsport +18.417s
26 Eric Gene Tecnicar Motorsport +18.720s
27 Luis Carlos Perez GRS +21.091s
28 Lorenzo Castillo Tecnicar Motorsport +25.114s
29 Maxi Restrepo Drivex School +4 laps
30 Noah Lisle Carlin +5 laps
Ret Ricardo Gracia Monlau Motorsport
Ret Alex Ninovic Carlin
Ret Lin Hodenius Monlau Motorsport
Ret Fernando Barrichello Monlau Motorsport
Fastest lap: Ho, 1m42.789s

Championship standings

1 Nael 296   2 Ho 264   3 Rinicella 241   4 Deligny 240   De Palo 159   6 Clerot 151   Stromsted 131   8 Cardenas 107   9 Al Azhari 92   10 Ninovic 50