Home Formula 3GB3 Hedley surges to victory at Snetterton as Voisin takes GB3 points lead

Hedley surges to victory at Snetterton as Voisin takes GB3 points lead

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Arden VRD’s James Hedley resisted race-long pressure from Matthew Rees to take his second GB3 victory in the opening contest at Snetterton.

Starting from fourth on the grid, Hedley made a lightning getaway to move alongside poleman Rees before sweeping around the outside into the lead at Riches. Rodin Carlin’s Callum Voisin slipped one place off the line and held off title rival Alex Dunne into the first corner to run third.

A good exit from Murrays enabled JHR Developments driver Rees to draw alongside Hedley at the start of lap three, but Hedley maintained the lead on the inside into Riches.

The pair’s battle allowed Voisin and Dunne to close in, with Dunne trying to capitalise by diving to the inside of Voisin into Wilsons hairpin, but remained in fourth.

The front two eventually pulled clear, with Rees remaining firmly on the tail of Hedley for the remainder of the race but was not able to create another overtaking opportunity.

Hedley took the chequered flag 0.353 seconds ahead, while Voisin came home two seconds behind Rees in third, having kept Dunne at bay throughout.

Douglas Motorsport driver Tymek Kucharczyk survived early contact with Hedley’s team-mate Nico Christodoulou – who was forced to pit after losing his front wing in the clash – before passing JHR’s Joseph Loake to finish fifth.

Loake slipped back to sixth, conceding the points lead to Voisin in the process, while Noah Ping profited from team-mate Christodoulou’s misfortune to gain one place to seventh.

Red Bull junior Souta Arao gained two spots to eighth ahead of Elite Motorsport’s McKenzy Cresswell and Carlin’s John Bennett, who climbed from 14th to 10th.

Race result (12 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 James Hedley Arden VRD 20m28.293s
2 Matthew Rees JHR Developments +0.353s
3 Callum Voisin Carlin +2.292s
4 Alex Dunne Hitech GP +2.864s
5 Tymek Kucharczyk Douglas Motorsport +3.885s
6 Joseph Loake JHR Developments +4.228s
7 Noah Ping Arden VRD +6.011s
8 Souta Arao Hitech GP +9.522s
9 McKenzy Cresswell Elite Motorsport +10.407s
10 John Bennett Carlin +11.763s
11 Zak Taylor Chris Dittmann Racing +12.067s
12 Michael Shin Hitech GP +17.827s
13 Oliver Stewart Elite Motorsport +19.918s
14 David Morales JHR Developments +22.717s
15 Jarrod Waberski Fortec Motorsports +23.382s
16 Arthur Rogeon Chris Dittmann Racing +24.211s
17 Gerrard Xie Hillspeed +24.625s
18 Edward Pearson Fortec Motorsports +25.369s
19 Ayato Iwasaki Elite Motorsport +26.162s
20 Max Esterson Fortec Motorsports +26.320s
21 Costa Toparis Carlin +26.878s
22 Lucas Staico Douglas Motorsport +28.121s
23 Shawn Rashid Douglas Motorsport +31.168s
24 Daniel Mavlyutov Hillspeed +31.324s
Ret Nico Christodoulou Arden VRD
Fastest lap: Dunne, 1m41.280s

Championship standings
Voisin 218   2 Loake 213   3 Dunne 199   4 Hedley 178   5 Kucharczyk 170   6 Cresswell 139   7 Rees 131   8 Bennett 115   9 Waberski 102   10 Toparis 91