Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Haverkort sets pace in FREC test at Zandvoort

Haverkort sets pace in FREC test at Zandvoort

by Ida Wood

Photo: Dutch Photo Agency

Kas Haverkort and Van Amersfoort Racing were fastest at their home track Zandvoort in the pre-event Formula Regional European Championship test session at the circuit.

The session ran for two hours on Thursday afternoon, and at the very start it was R-ace GP’s Gabriel Bortoleto who set the pace. He slid down the order as the test went on though, although his time in first place was prolonged by an early red flag.

ART Grand Prix’s Gabriele Mini had moved the benchmark pace from the 1m33s to the 1m32s after 40 minutes, with Prema’s Paul Aron and R-ace’s Lorenzo Fluxa his closest rivals while VAR’s Joshua Dufek became the first of several drivers to have laptimes deleted due to exceeding track limits at the third corner.

Hadrien David posted the new fastest time some minutes later, but his small gain didn’t put him in first place for long as soon Haverkort and then Aron brought the pace down further.

The first hour ended with Aron on top with a 1m32.084s lap, but very soon after he was usurped too by Mini who became the first driver to break into the 1m31s before the second red flag stoppage.

Mini was unable to improve on that afterwards, and when a large group of drivers went out on a gripped up track at the end they knocked him down to fifth.

Haverkort went fastest with seven minutes to go, setting a 1m32.739s, with ART GP’s Mari Boya jumping up to second place at the very end to push David down to third and created a top three split by little over half a tenth of a second.

MP Motorsport’s Michael Belov also made a very late gain in pace to go fourth fastest, ahead of Mini, Aron (another whose ultimate pace stagnated earlier in the session), Dufek and MP’s Sami Meguetounif.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.739s 32
2 Mari Boya ART Grand Prix 1m31.751s +0.012s 33
3 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m31.791s +0.052s 36
4 Michael Belov MP Motorsport 1m31.890s +0.151s 33
5 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m31.998s +0.259s 34
6 Paul Aron Prema 1m32.028s +0.289s 39
7 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.075s +0.336s 32
8 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m32.122s +0.383s 33
9 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m32.180s +0.441s 37
10 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m32.255s +0.516s 34
11 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m32.289s +0.550s 38
12 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 1m32.319s +0.580s 35
13 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m32.492s +0.753s 27
14 Owen Tangavelou G4 Racing 1m32.512s +0.773s 33
15 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP 1m32.596s +0.857s 29
16 Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M 1m32.596s +0.857s 34
17 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m32.646s +0.907s 31
18 Tim Tramnitz Trident 1m32.662s +0.923s 27
19 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP 1m32.664s +0.925s 33
20 Noel Leon Arden 1m32.709s +0.970s 32
21 Esteban Masson FA Racing by MP 1m32.778s +1.039s 29
22 Francesco Braschi KIC Motorsport 1m32.907s +1.168s 35
23 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m32.948s +1.209s 26
24 Eduardo Barrichello Arden 1m32.999s +1.260s 28
25 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport 1m33.097s +1.358s 32
26 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.196s +1.457s 31
27 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP 1m33.272s +1.533s 5
28 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing 1m33.394s +1.655s 29
29 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m33.816s +2.077s 29
30 Keith Donegan R-P-M 1m33.913s +2.174s 32
31 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m33.972s +2.233s 34
32 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 1m33.993s +2.254s 34
33 Cenyu Han Monolite Racing 1m34.010s +2.271s 30
34 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 1m34.073s +2.334s 32
35 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport 1m34.246s +2.507s 23
36 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP 1m34.424s +2.685s 35