Home Featured Hauger claims FIA F3 win and points lead in third Barcelona race

Hauger claims FIA F3 win and points lead in third Barcelona race

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Dennis Hauger took his first FIA Formula 3 Championship victory in the final race of the Barcelona weekend from pole position.

Hauger didn’t get a stellar launch, but had some strong momentum later in the start phase. Down the long main pit straight, he went four-wide with Trident’s Jack Doohan, MP Motorsport’s Victor Martins and HWA Racelab’s Matteo Nannini.

Prema driver Hauger was able to come out on top ahead of Martins, Nannini and Doohan.

As Hauger gradually extended the gap at the front, Doohan was able to come back and get past Martins, who conceded a spot by running over the sausage kerb at the exit of turn 15, and then Nannini.

The gaps remained somewhat stagnant at the front towards the end, with Hauger beating Doohan by 3.5 seconds for their first podium finishes, while Nannini rounded out the top three.

Martins’ pace faded towards the end and he slipped behind Saturday’s race two winner Olli Caldwell and was under pressure from Trident’s Clement Novalak towards the end.

Novalak and ART Grand Prix’s Frederik Vesti got past Charouz Racing System’s Logan Sargeant towards the end following an error for the American driver on the penultimate lap.

MP’s Caio Collet nabbed eighth from Sargeant on the line by a narrow margin, while Hitech GP’s Roman Stanek rounded out the points finishers ahead of race one winner Alexander Smolyar.

Trident’s David Schumacher finished ahead of Prema’s Arthur Leclerc – whose pace was comparable with those at the front, ART’s Juan Manuel Correa and Hitech’s Ayumu Iwasa – who made up several places.

Carlin’s Kaylen Frederick and HWA Racelab’s Rafael Villagomez came into contact at turn 3, hampering the pair of them, while Lorenzo Colombo also found himself with woes following a puncture. Villagonez was penalised five seconds for the contact.

Race results (22 laps)

Pos Name Team Time
1 Dennis Hauger Prema 35m47.216s
2 Jack Doohan Trident +3.721s
3 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab +6.153s
4 Olli Caldwell Prema +8.124s
5 Victor Martins MP Motorsport +11.548s
6 Clement Novalak Trident +12.337s
7 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix +13.455s
8 Caio Collet MP Motorsport +14.053s
9 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System +15.435s
10 Roman Stanek Hitech GP +15.477s
11 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix +16.062s
12 David Schumacher Trident +16.688s
13 Arthur Leclerc Prema +17.238s
14 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix +21.249s
15 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP +26.143s
16 Jonny Edgar Carlin +31.767s
17 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab +32.388s
18 Jak Crawford Hitech GP +32.628s
19 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System +33.724s
20 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport +33.882s
21 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport +34.069s
22 Ido Cohen Carlin +37.210s
23 Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System +37.932s
24 Pierre-Louis Chovet Jenzer Motorsport +38.577s
25 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing +39.222s
26 Laszlo Toth Campos Racing +40.548s
27 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport +53.678s
28 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab +1 lap
29 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing +1 lap
30 Kaylen Frederick Carlin +1 lap
Fastest lap: Hauger, 1m36.643s

Championship standings
1 Hauger 34   2 Caldwell 32   3 Novalak 28   4 Martins 24   5 Doohan 21   6 Collet 20   7 Vesti 20   8 Smolyar 17   9 Nannini 16   10 Edgar 11