Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Hadjar ends pre-season FREC testing on top at Paul Ricard

Hadjar ends pre-season FREC testing on top at Paul Ricard

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRECA

R-ace GP’s Isack Hadjar went fastest on the final day of Formula Regional European Championship by Alpine pre-season testing at Paul Ricard.

The Frenchman had gone joint fastest with ART Grand Prix’s Gregoire Saucy on the first day at the circuit, but on day two he claimed first place for himself by a tiny 0.011 seconds. R-ace’s Hadrien David and Zane Maloney were the next fastest drivers.

Despite warm temperatures, most teams opted to spend the majority of the Wednesday morning session in the pits and the order was set pretty early on. ART and Prema did spend more time on track than most, although the Prema drivers were outside of a top 16 that was spread by just a second on pace.

David set the early pace in the four-hour afternoon session, before Arden’s William Alatalo took over at the top. Only a third of the field had completed a lap one hour in, with Alatalo’s team-mate Alex Quinn taking over at the top soon after.

It wasn’t until the second half of the session that personal bests started being set again, with Saucy fastest and his team-mate Gabriele Mini rising to fourth.

Prema’s Paul Aron then went second fastest, becoming the first driver to improve on their morning best, and team-mate David Vidales came by a few minutes later with a session-topping 1m58.287s to improve from 18th to 14th on the day’s overall timesheet.

A timing glitch sent Van Amersfoort Racing’s Lorenzo Fluxa briefly to the top with a lap falsely recorded at 11.266s. but that was fixed by the end to show Vidales in first place again.

Mini also improved to bump Aron down to fourth fastest in the afternoon, and the Mercedes Formula 1 junior was 17th fastest across the day.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP 1m57.591s 70
2 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m57.602s +0.011s 60
3 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m57.763s +0.172s 58
4 Zane Maloney R-ace GP 1m57.893s +0.302s 77
5 William Alatalo Arden 1m57.910s +0.319s 57
6 Alex Quinn Arden 1m58.042s +0.451s 80
7 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport 1m58.071s +0.480s 51
8 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP 1m58.079s +0.488s 60
9 Thomas ten Brinke ART Grand Prix 1m58.086s +0.495s 59
10 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m58.126s +0.535s 51
11 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m58.149s +0.558s 53
12 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing 1m58.194s +0.603s 74
13 Patrik Pasma KIC Motorsport 1m58.195s +0.604s 45
14 David Vidales Prema 1m58.287s +0.696s 58
15 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 1m58.347s +0.756s 48
16 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m58.487s +0.896s 55
17 Paul Aron Prema 1m58.539s +0.948s 58
18 Elias Seppanen KIC Motorsport 1m58.553s +0.962s 54
19 Beitske Visser R-ace GP 1m58.676s +1.085s 70
20 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m58.898s +1.307s 62
21 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m58.942s +1.351s 67
22 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport 1m58.997s +1.406s 54
23 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m59.145s +1.554s 54
24 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport 1m59.178s +1.587s 56
25 Nicola Marinangeli Arden 1m59.188s +1.597s 71
26 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP 1m59.208s +1.617s 58
27 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport 1m59.255s +1.664s 51
28 Gabriel Bortoleto DR Formula 1m59.274s +1.683s 31
29 Belen Garcia G4 Racing 1m59.550s +1.959s 54
30 Brad Benavides DR Formula 1m59.627s +2.036s 62
31 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 1m59.753s +2.162s 52
32 Jasin Ferati Monolite Racing 1m59.925s +2.334s 45