Home Z - Archive seriesGP3 GP3 Series confirm entry list for opening day of post-season test

GP3 Series confirm entry list for opening day of post-season test

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Sam Bloxham / GP3 Media Service

Photo: Sam Bloxham / GP3 Media Service

The GP3 Series have unveiled the 27 drivers who will partake in the opening day of post-season Abu Dhabi testing on November 5th.

As previously confirmed, teams’ champions ART Grand Prix will run Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 champion Pierre Gasly for one day in addition to Emanuele Zonzini and Lotus junior Alex Fontana.

MW Arden, who took the drivers’ title this weekend, will field Brit Dino Zamparelli in addition to F3 Open frontrunner Ed Jones and a surprise third entry in German F3 champion Marvin Kirchhofer.

Dean Stoneman will test with Koiranen following his successful return to single-seater racing at Abu Dhabi. He will be accompanied by Uruguayan talent Santiago Urrutia and Carmen Jorda.

The Russian Time squad, which will take over the GP3 team slot previously occupied by Bamboo, have enlisted the help of GP2 runner-up Sam Bird in testing. Alongside the Brit, Russian Time will field two drivers associated with their Motopark brand in lower championships – Jimmy Eriksson, who won German F3 with them in 2012, and Kuba Dalewski, who took a race win with the team in 2012 ADAC Formel Masters.

Carlin will run Nicholas Latifi and Jann Mardenborough, who competed in the 2013 European F3 season with the British squad. Emil Bernstorff will also join the lineup, having won races in German F3 this year.

Another Carlin driver from FIA F3, Jordan King, will test for Status on Tuesday, alongside Formula Renault 3.5 race winner Kevin Korjus and Toyota Racing Series two-times champion Nick Cassidy. Juan Branger, Ivan Taranov and Roman de Beer will run for Trident.

Manor MP will be fielding Oliver Rowland on Tuesday and Wednesday, as team’s regular driver Ryan Cullen and GP3 race winner Melville McKee will accompany him on day one. Patric Niederhauser will test with his usual team Jenzer Motorsport, joined by David Fumanelli and Kevin Jorg.

Update: In a last-minute switch, GP3 regular Adderly Fong will test for Koiranen instead of Jorda.

Tuesday Wednesday Thursday
ART Grand Prix Alex Fontana Alex Fontana Alex Fontana
Emanuele Zonzini Emanuele Zonzini* Oliver Rowland*
Pierre Gasly Patric Niederhauser
MW Arden Ed Jones Emanuele Zonzini*
Dino Zamparelli Patric Niederhauser
Marvin Kirchhofer
Carlin Jann Mardenborough Jann Mardenborough Nicholas Latifi
Nicholas Latifi Luis Sa Silva Luis Sa Silva
Emil Bernstorff Emil Bernstorff David Pittard
Jenzer Motorsport David Fumanelli David Fumanelli David Fumanelli
Patric Niederhauser Levin Amweg*
Kevin Jorg
Marussia Manor Racing Oliver Rowland Oliver Rowland*
Ryan Cullen
Melville McKee
Status Grand Prix Jordan King Jack Hawksworth Jack Hawksworth
Kevin Korjus Nicholas Latifi Gustavo Menezes
Nick Cassidy Nick Cassidy Nick Cassidy
Trident Juan Branger Kuba Dalewski Juan Branger
Ivan Taranov Robert Cregan Robert Cregan
Roman de Beer Roman de Beer Saeed Al Mehairi
Koiranen GP Dean Stoneman
Santiago Urrutia
Adderly Fong
Russian Time Sam Bird Ivan Taranov Ivan Taranov
Jimmy Eriksson
Kuba Dalewski

* driver confirmed to test with team, exact day to be announced