Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Giusti takes unchallenged maiden FREC victory at Paul Ricard

Giusti takes unchallenged maiden FREC victory at Paul Ricard

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: Diederik van der Laan / DPPA

G4 Racing’s Alessandro Giusti took his maiden Formula Regional European Championship win from pole at Paul Ricard.

The Frenchman was never challenged as he took a comfortable lights-to-flag victory, setting fastest lap in the process.

MP Motorsport’s Sami Meguetounif made an excellent start to edge past championship leader Martinius Stenshorne into the first corner, with the Norwegian coming under pressure from his R-ace GP team-mate Tim Tramnitz.

Tramnitz himself then came under attack from Mercedes-AMG Formula 1 junior Andrea Kimi Antonelli who was forced to take to the escape road at the chicane as he tried to find a way past on lap one.

The safety car was called out briefly on lap two after Monolite Racing’s Enzo Scionti punted Van Amersfoort Racing’s Niels Koolen into a spin, both cars retiring.

At the restart, Tramnitz was immediately on the attack, looking in vain for a way past Stenshorne, while behind them sixth-placed Laurens van Hoepen tried to dive inside Antonelli at the final corner.

MP’s Victor Bernier was enjoying a lonely run in seventh but the race’s main excitement was in the fight for eighth between G4’s Michael Belov and Prema’s Rafael Camara.

As the pair duelled, KIC Motorsport’s Maya Weug had made up two places to latch onto Camara’s tail, even attempting a move on her fellow Ferrari junior into the final corner.

As Giusti put in a couple of fastest laps to extend his advantage out front to over two seconds at the flag, Camara was lining up a final lap challenge on Belov.

Belov defended his position into the chicane allowing Camara to draw alongside before going around the outside through the fast left-hander at Signes, and then holding off Belov through Le Beausset to claim eighth at the finish.

Race results (15 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Alessandro Giusti G4 Racing 32m02.965s
2 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport +2.155s
3 Martinius Stenshorne R-ace GP +3.051s
4 Tim Tramnitz R-ace GP +3.731s
5 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema +5.443s
6 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix +6.301s
7 Victor Bernier MP Motorsport +8.167s
8 Rafael Camara Prema +9.566s
9 Michael Belov G4 Racing +10.139s
10 Maya Weug KIC Motorsport +12.093s
11 Lorenzo Fluxa Prema +12.717s
12 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing +13.165s
13 Esteban Masson Sainteloc Racing +14.080s
14 Nikhil Bohra Trident +16.742s
15 Owen Tangavelou Trident +17.007s
16 Marcus Amand ART Grand Prix +19.087s
17 Tom Lebbon Arden +19.581s
18 Joshua Duerksen Arden +21.153s
19 Kirill Smal Monolite Racing +21.630s
20 Roman Bilinski Trident +23.349s
21 Maceo Capietto R-P-M +23.434s
22 Emmo Fittipaldi Sainteloc Racing +24.084s
23 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing +24.876s
24 Matias Zagazeta R-ace GP +25.498s
25 Levente Revesz Arden +28.780s
26 Pierre-Alexandre Provost G4 Racing +34.726s
27 Giovanni Maschio Monolite Racing +35.180s
28 Ivan Klymenko KIC Motorsport +35.630s
29 Enzo Scionti Monolite Racing +38.638s
30 Lucas Medina Sainteloc Racing +48.662s
Ret Santiago Ramos R-P-M
Ret Charlie Wurz ART Grand Prix
Ret Niels Koolen Van Amersfoort Racing
Fastest lap: Giusti, 2m00.206s

Championship standings
1 Stenshorne 169   2 Antonelli 162   3 Tramnitz 131   4 Haverkort 96   5 Camara 95   6 Fluxa 60   7 Capietto 58   8 Ramos 54   9 Dufek 52   10 Meguetounif 41