Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Giusti quickest in pre-event test for FREC’s Hockenheim season opener

Giusti quickest in pre-event test for FREC’s Hockenheim season opener

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: FRECA

Williams junior Alessandro Giusti was quickest in pre-event testing for the Formula Regional European Championship season opener under cloudless skies at Hockenheim.

The ART Grand Prix driver topped the faster afternoon session by 0.133 seconds over R-ace GP’s Enzo Deligny.

Prema’s Rafael Camara had to settle for third, having jumped to the front midway through the sesion, ahead of Sainteloc Racing’s Theophile Nael.

Ferrari junior Tuukka Taponen was fastest in the morning session but was unable to improve in the follow-up, leaving him fifth in the day’s combined classification. He was the only driver to lap sub-1m36s in the morning, posting a 1m35.932s in the final minutes as three red flag periods badly disrupted running.

All three stoppages were caused by offs at turn 12, the right-hander leading into the stadium section. G4 Racing’s Jesse Carrasquedo was the first to run into the gravel, then four minutes after the session restarted Prema’s James Wharton did the same.

Speaking to Formula Scout after the session, Wharton blamed water on the track from the preceding GT Open practice session for the slippery conditions.

His off caused a five-minute stoppage, then there were six minutes of running before Trident’s Niko Lacorte spun backwards at speed into the gravel. At that point, MP Motorsport’s Nikhil Bohra was top of the times.

Released again with nine minutes still on the clock, the drivers were finally able to get into a rhythm. Sainteloc Racing’s Enzo Peugeot was the first to lap sub-1m37s but within seconds his time was beaten by MP’s Nikita Bedrin and Red Bull junior Deligny.

After Giusti and Bohra briefly returned to the front, Taponen asserted himself, ending the session 0.171s ahead of team-mate Zachary David, Bedrin and Deligny.

The afternoon session ran without interruption save for a 30-second virtual safety car period in the opening minutes to remove debris at turns one and two.

Taponen again headed the times from David halfway through the session as the field returned to the pits. One of the few to remain circulating was Prema’s Rafael Camara, who utilised the empty track to set successive fastest laps.

With just over 10 minutes remaining, Deligny and then Giusti bettered Camara’s pace. As most drivers finishing their running in the pits before the end of the session, there were no late improvements.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Alessandro Giusti ART Grand Prix 1m35.730s 39
2 Enzo Deligny R-ace GP 1m35.863s +0.133s 36
3 Rafael Camara Prema 1m35.872s +0.142s 36
4 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing 1m35.919s +0.189s 33
5 Tuukka Taponen R-ace GP 1m35.932s +0.202s 37
6 Matteo De Palo Sainteloc Racing 1m35.989s +0.259s 36
7 Nikita Bedrin MP Motorsport 1m36.004s +0.274s 38
8 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.029s +0.299s 35
9 Zachary David R-ace GP 1m36.103s +0.373s 36
10 James Wharton Prema 1m36.139s +0.409s 23
11 Roman Bilinski Trient 1m36.180s +0.450s 38
12 Nikhil Bohra MP Motorsport 1m36.220s +0.490s 41
13 Evan Giltaire ART Grand Prix 1m36.230s +0.500s 39
14 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport 1m36.327s +0.597s 41
15 Enzo Peugeot Sainteloc Racing 1m36.356s +0.626s 39
16 Ivan Domingues Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.408s +0.678s 36
17 Pedro Clerot Van Amersfoort Racing 1m36.430s +0.700s 38
18 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema 1m36.439s +0.709s 39
19 Costa Toparis KIC Motorsport 1m36.498s +0.768s 40
20 Niko Lacorte Trident 1m36.619s +0.889s 27
21 Noah Stromsted R-P-M 1m36.785s +1.055s 41
22 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi KIC Motorsport 1m36.951s +1.221s 36
23 Kanato Le G4 Racing 1m37.047s +1.317s 42
24 Ruiqi Liu Trident 1m37.091s +1.361s 36
25 Doriane Pin Iron Dames 1m37.230s +1.500s 43
26 Lena Buhler ART Grand Prix 1m37.271s +1.541s 41
27 Marta Garcia Iron Dames 1m37.275s +1.545s 42
28 Romain Andriolo G4 Racing 1m37.285s +1.555s 43
29 Giovanni Maschio R-P-M 1m37.360s +1.630s 40
30 Alex Sawer KIC Motorsport 1m37.384s +1.654s 36
31 Yaroslav Veselaho ART Grand Prix 1m37.386s +1.656s 38
32 Jesse Carrasquedo Jr G4 Racing 1m37.551s +1.821s 26
33 Edgar Pierre R-P-M 1m37.701s +1.971s 39