Home Formula 4NACAM F4 Gil Molina makes winning impact on NACAM F4 debut

Gil Molina makes winning impact on NACAM F4 debut

by Ida Wood

Photo: NACAM F4

The 2019-20 NACAM Formula 4 season resumed at Queretaro in Mexico, with series debutant Gil Molina the star of the round.

Calendar changes brought about as a result of the coronavirus pandemic meant a surprise visit to the circuit, and it was Ram Racing’s Noel Leon who set the pace on the oval-based circuit.

He had no answer to the pace of RPL Racing in the first race though, with its trio of drivers filling the podium positions. A clinical pass by Andre Perez de Lara earned him victory over his relation Pedro, with Jose Garfias Martinez finishing third.

Nico Christodoulou, Leon’s closest rival in the title race, challenged Garfias Martinez for the podium and a fourth place finish for him brought him slightly nearer to Leon.

The second race was less straightforward, with several safety car periods resulting in the top four finishing just over a second apart and as the only four on the lead lap.

Molina, who made his single-seater debut in F4 in the United States earlier this year, ended up being the winner.

“Well it was a very good feeling since it’s my first weekend competing in NACAM F4 and the first weekend for the team too<” Molina told Formula Scout.

“So it’s a learning experience to grow but we have to try our best. Very eventful race with crashes and safety cars which ultimately gave me the win, but nonetheless very happy with the result and looking forward to more in the future.”

Leon’s team-mate Alejandro Berumen also profited from the chaos to claim the runner-up spot, while Andre Perez de Lara was technically the best placed of the title contenders despite his race ending with three laps to go.

Race three was far more simple, with Leon comfortably leading from lights to flag. Pablo Perez de Lara was second, and Molina showed his race two win wasn’t a fluke by claiming the bottom spot on the podium.

Results round-up
Race 1 (27 laps)
1 Andres Perez de Lara RPL Racing 27m25.847s
2 Pablo Perez de Lara RPL Racing +3.261s
3 Jose Garfias Martinez RPL Racing +10.361s
4 Nico Christodoulou Scuderia Martiga +10.893s
5 Noel Leon Ram Racing +11.807s
6 Jesse Garrasquedo Sidral Aga +17.327s
7 Gil Molina MEA Racing +18.591s
8 Alejandro Berumen Ram Racing +31.541s
9 Daniel Escoto FF&R IBC Group +31.739s
10 Jorge Garciarce Sidral Aga +33.573s
Pole: Leon, 59.255s
Fastest lap: A Perez de Lara, 59.704s

Race 2 (22 laps)
1 Molina 30m39.375s
2 Berumen +0.389s
3 David Morales Euromotor Sport +1.016s
4 Garrasquedo +1.983s
5 Escoto +1 lap
6 Garfias Martinez +3 laps
7 A Perez de Lara +3 laps
Ret Leon
NC Garciarce
Ret P Perez de Lara
FL: P Perez de Lara, 59.672s

Race 3 (27 laps)
1 Leon
2 P Perez de Lara +6.790s
3 Molina +7.148s
4 Christodoulou +8.969s
5 Garfias Martinez +18.038s
6 Morales +25.472s
7 Berumen +25.812s
8 Gariarce +27.076s
9 A Perez de Lara +1 lap
10 Escoto +5 laps
P: Leon, 59.295s
FL: Leon, 59.481s

Championship standings
1 Leon 234   2 Christodoulou 190   3 A Perez de Lara 187   4 Garfias Martinez 179   5 P Perez de Lara 140   6 Nolan Siegel 60   7 Morales 58   8 Escoto 51   9 Molina 46   10 Reece Gold 38