Home Featured Gianluca Petecof wins at Mugello as Italian F4 title rivals retire

Gianluca Petecof wins at Mugello as Italian F4 title rivals retire

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Prema Powerteam

Prema?s Guanluca Petecof claimed his first Italian Formula 4 victory in race one of the Mugello season closer as title rivals Enzo Fittipaldi and Leonardo Lorandi collided.

Petecof snatched the lead from poleman Fittipaldi off the line and was untouchable thereon. Fittipaldi tried to stay in touch with his team-mate but soon found himself under pressure from championship leading Bhaitech driver Lorandi.

Midway through the race, Lorandi made a move up the inside of Fittipaldi, who tried to hold the position as the pair ran through the next corner, with Lorandi again holding the inside line. They touched and Fittipaldi was forced wide through the gravel and into the wall, ending his race.

Lorandi was able to continue but didn?t have the same pace. Olli Caldwell, who had been watching the battle from fourth, quickly passed, with Andres Estner, William Alatalo and Giorgio Carrara following him past over the next two laps. In the closing laps Lorandi ventured to the pits, also ending his race.

Caldwell couldn?t challenge Petecof, finishing 2.591 seconds behind, but second place meant he is now within 20 points of the championship lead, but 25 behind when dropped scores is taken into consideration.

Van Amersfoort Racing driver Estner finished on the podium on his first start of the year, taking third ahead of Mucke Motorsport’s Alatalo and Jenzer Motorsport’s Carrara, who spent most of the race battling.

After a difficult qualifying, Lorandi’s team-mate Petr Ptacek enjoyed a strong recovery drive to finish sixth and top rookie, ahead of Niklas Krutten and Alessandro Famularo. Marzio Moretti and Sebastian Estner completed the points.


Race results (17 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Gianluca Petecof Prema 31m01.515s
2 Olli Caldwell Prema +2.591s
3 Andreas Estner Van Amersfoort Racing +10.859s
4 William Alatalo Mucke Motorsport +12.267s
5 Giorgio Carrara Jenzer Motorsport +14.064s
6 Petr Ptacek Bhaitech +16.251s
7 Niklas Krutten Mucke Motorsport +16.425s
8 Alessandro Famularo Bhaitech +18.178s
9 Marzio Moretti BVM Racing +19.663s
10 Sebastian Estner Van Amersfoort Racing +20.345s
11 Umberto Laganella Cram Motorsport +25.463s
12 Lucas Alecco Roy Van Amersfoort Racing +25.822s
13 Oliver Rasmussen Jenzer Motorsport +29.761s
14 Lorenzo Colombo R-ace GP +30.561s
15 Ido Cohen Mucke Motorsport +31.054s
16 Ilya Morozov Bhaitech +31.392s
17 Jesse Salmenautio AS Motorsport +32.415s
18 Nazim Azman Jenzer Motorsport +32.901s
19 Amna Al Qubaisi Prema +35.545s
20 Daniel Vebster Cram Motorsport +43.849s
21 Alessio Deledda Technorace +1m01.559s
22 Nicola Marinangeli DR Formula/Curv Motorsport +1m02.675s
23 Amaury Cordeel Alma Racing +1 lap
24 Leonardo Lorandi Bhaitech +2 laps
25 Emilio Cipriani Cram Motorsport +2 laps
Ret Andrea Dell-Accio Cram Motorsport
Ret Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport
Ret Fabio Venditti Corbetta Competizioni
Ret Enzo Fittipaldi Prema
Ret Gregoire Saucy R-ace GP
Pole: Fittipaldi, 1m47.546s? ? ??Fastest lap: Malvestiti, 1m48.259s

Championship Standings
1?Lorandi 266? ?2 Fittipaldi 257? ?3 Caldwell 246? ?4?Ptacek 170? ?5?Malvestiti 159? ?6 Petecof 153? ?7?Alatalo 105? ?8?Carrara 97? ?9?Ian Rodriguez 78? ?10?Frederik Vesti 68