Home Road to IndyIndy Nxt Frost fastest in Indy Lights FP1 at Barber

Frost fastest in Indy Lights FP1 at Barber

by Ida Wood

Photo: James Black / IndyCar

HMD Motorsports’ Danial Frost was the fastest driver in Indy Lights’ first free practice session at Barber Motorsports Park.

Since the St. Petersburg season opener in February, teams have been out testing at several circuits, and arrived at Barber for another one-race event.

Andretti Autosport driver Christian Rasmussen briefly sat in first place at the start of FP1, before Frost and then his team-mate Benjamin Pedersen – who is co-run by Global Racing Group – lowered the pace.

Frost reclaimed first place with the fifth lap of his first run, and he was briefly usurped by TJ Speed’s Kyffin Simpson to the tune of 0.0006 seconds. The first sub-1m13s lap of the day was good enough to put him back on top again, and he ended the first runs as the driver to beat with championship leader Matthew Brabham as his closest rival.

There was a little more drama during the second and third runs of the session, during which time Rasmussen returned to the head of the timesheet but got bettered by Frost for the final time by 0.0173s.

Jacob Abel caught Simpson on one of his flying laps and ended up going off track and spinning to avoid a clash, while Force Indy’s Ernie Francis Jr was handed a drive-through penalty for pitlane speeding.

Linus Lunqvist went third fastest for HMD, 0.1737s off the pace of his team-mate, and Pedersen was the fourth of the drivers to lap in the 1m12s.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Danial Frost HMD Motorsports 1m12.6511s 24
2 Christian Rasmussen Andretti Autosport 1m12.6684s +0.0173s 25
3 Linus Lundqvist HMD Motorsports 1m12.8248s +0.1737s 26
4 Benjamin Pedersen Global Racing Group w/ HMD 1m12.8778s +0.2033s 25
5 Hunter McElrea Andretti Autosport 1m13.1098s +0.4066s 22
6 Matthew Brabham Andretti Autosport 1m13.1356s +0.4845s 24
7 Sting Ray Robb Andretti Autosport 1m13.1902s +0.5391s 20
8 Manuel Sulaiman HMD Motorsports 1m13.2898s +0.6387s 21
9 Kyffin Simpson TJ Speed 1m13.3897s +0.7386s 19
10 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports 1m13.4244s +0.7733s 21
11 Christian Bogle HMD Motorsports 1m13.8868s +1.2357s 23
12 James Roe Jr TJ Speed 1m14.1895s +1.5384s 22
13 Antonio Serravalle Abel Motorsports 1m14.5478s +1.8967s 23
14 Ernie Francis Jr Force Indy 1m14.8330s +2.1819s 19