Home Featured Frederick fastest for ART GP on first afternoon of FIA F3 test

Frederick fastest for ART GP on first afternoon of FIA F3 test

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

ART Grand Prix’s Kaylen Frederick was the fastest driver in the afternoon session of the first day of post-season FIA Formula 3 testing at Jerez.

Most drivers completed more laps in the three-hour afternoon session than they did in the morning one, although the pace was slower at the top of the timesheet.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Noel Leon set the pace at first, with drivers heading on track far sooner than they did when the green light at the end of the pitlane first went on in the morning.

Leon was on top for some time, but was eventually shuffled down to fourth by Oliver Goethe, who got into the 1m31s with just his third flying lap, and his Trident team-mates Gabriel Bortoleto and Leonardo Fornaroli.

There was then a red flag stoppage caused by VAR’s Roberto Faria, and Goethe stayed on top for the next hour before action was interrupted again when Charouz Racing System’s Emmo Fittipaldi hit trouble and caused a second red flag period.

Campos Racing’s Pepe Marti and Francesco Pizzi had climbed to third and fourth by that point, and the session entered its second half when green flags were waved once more.

Christian Mansell and team-mate Pizzi rose to second and third after the restart, and Goethe was then usurped when Prema’s Zak O’Sullivan set a 1m31.669s with just over an hour-and-a-quarter of the day to go.

His time in first place was prolonged by another red flag stoppage, this time caused by Carlin’s Hunter Yeany, but O’Sullivan did improve when he returned to track as he set a 1m31.509s.

Dino Beganovic made it a Prema one-two, then moved ahead of his team-mate in the final hour by posting a 1m31.358s lap. Paul Aron went third fastest to create a Prema 1-2-3, but soon ART GP’s drivers were on fast-paced runs.

Frederick initially slotted into third, then Gregoire Saucy went second and VAR’s Rafael Villagomez jumped into third place before Frederick’s fastest lap came in with 15 minutes remaining. Nobody had the chance to beat it in the final minutes as Charouz’s Alessandro Famularo caused another stoppage that ended just before the chequered flag was waved.

MP Motorsport’s Jonny Edgar did the most mileage, setting 51 laps in the afternoon.

Afternoon session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Kaylen Frederick ART Grand Prix 1m31.275s 37
2 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m31.358s +0.083s 34
3 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m31.378s +0.103s 36
4 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.400s +0.125s 37
5 Gabriel Bortoleto Trident 1m31.499s +0.224s 37
6 Zak O’Sullivan Prema 1m31.509s +0.234s 33
7 Oliver Goethe Trident 1m31.670s +0.395s 30
8 Paul Aron Prema 1m31.675s +0.400s 32
9 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP 1m31.694s +0.419s 39
10 Taylor Barnard Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.744s +0.469s 30
11 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m31.763s +0.488s 33
12 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m31.839s +0.564s 26
13 Christian Mansell Campos Racing 1m31.859s +0.584s 37
14 Francesco Pizzi Campos Racing 1m31.922s +0.647s 28
15 Nikita Bedrin Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.985s +0.710s 30
16 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix 1m32.142s +0.867s 43
17 Alessandro Famularo Charouz Racing System 1m32.148s +0.873s 30
18 Joel Granfors Fortec Motorsports 1m32.176s +0.901s 32
19 Noel Leon Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.268s +0.993s 44
20 Hunter Yeany Carlin 1m32.547s +1.272s 19
21 Arias Deukmedjian Carlin 1m32.751s +1.476s 33
22 Roberto Faria Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.981s +1.706s 38
23 Nicola Marinangeli Charouz Racing System 1m33.186s +1.911s 28
24 Mari Boya MP Motorsport 1m33.427s +2.152s 47
25 Sebastian Montoya Hitech GP 1m33.522s +2.247s 17
26 Gabriele Mini Hitech GP 1m33.577s +2.302s 19
27 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m33.622s +2.347s 47
28 Emmo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m33.634s +2.359s 21
29 Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport 1m33.709s +2.434s 51
30 Alex Garcia Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.754s +2.479s 26