Home Featured Freddie Slater crowned F4 UAE champion as Al Dhaheri wins finale

Freddie Slater crowned F4 UAE champion as Al Dhaheri wins finale

by Ida Wood

Photo: F4 UAE

Rashid Al Dhaheri won the Formula 4 United Arab Emirates season finale at Dubai Autodrome, while Freddie Slater took the title.

There was drama from the off, with Mumbai Falcons’ Alex Powell jumping the start by a big margin but then stopping and not going again. Everyone went past the third-placed starter without contact.

Kean Nakamura Berta and Al Dhaheri shared the front row, with the latter making use of the inside line to pass the poleman before turn one. Deagen Fairclough dropped down the order with an off then got involved in a second incident later in the lap, while points leader Keanu Al Azhari tried passing Luka Sammalisto for eighth but ended up dropping out of the top 10.

He overtook Jules Caranta for 10th on lap two just before the safety car was summoned due to Prema’s Tomass Stolcermanis and Sainteloc Racing’s Raphael Narac having a big crash. The race was red flagged a lap later as their cars were recovered.

The restart took place with two laps behind the safety car before green flag action returned on lap five. Al Azhari repeated his earlier error of trying to pass Sammalisto for ninth and instead fell behind Caranta and out of the points positions.

Caranta and Al Azhari then both got by Sammalisto on lap six, and Al Azhari was even able to pass Caranta to get into ninth. Next on his radar was Jack Beeton, and he cleared him on lap eight. Beeton went off when Caranta tried to pass him too, and after rejoining the track he conceded the position.

Al Azhari needed to make up far more ground to keep his title ambitions alive though, since his closest rival Slater was in third and Nakamura was pressuring Al Dhaheri for the win.

Less than 0.4 separated the top two from lap eight to lap 11, and although Al Dhaheri initially grew his lead on the final lap there was a brief point where Nakamura got very close to him. They held position, and Prema’s Al Dhaheri took his second victory of 2024.

Mumbai Falcons duo Nakamura and Slater completed the podium, with Dion Gowda and Enzo Yeh following them home. Nakamura lost out on the title by four points, with Al Azhari a further four points behind after finishing eighth and a long way behind the battling Enzo Deligny and Matteo Quintarelli. Sammalisto ended the race in 15th place.

Race results (12 laps)
Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Rashid Al Dhaheri Prema 29m31.352s
2 Kean Nakamura Berta Mumbai Falcons +0.707s
3 Freddie Slater Mumbai Falcons +1.860s
4 Dion Gowda Mumbai Falcons +2.408s
5 Enzo Yeh R-ace GP +3.003s
6 Enzo Deligny R-ace GP +7.348s
7 Matteo Quintarelli Sainteloc Racing +7.990s
8 Keanu Al Azhari Yas Heat +13.238
9 Jules Caranta R-ace GP +13.335s
10 Jack Beeton AGI Sport +15.162s
11 Zack Scoular Yas Heat +17.091s
12 Alvise Rodella Xcel Motorsport +18.245s
13 Kamal Mrad PHM Racing +18.722s
14 Yevan David Sainteloc Racing +19.168s
15 Luka Sammalisto R-ace GP +19.753s
16 Seb Murray Hitech GP +23.223s
17 Reza Seewooruthun Hitech GP +23.670s
18 Maximilian Popov PHM Racing +24.895s
19 Kai Daryanani Pinnacle Motorsport +26.522s
20 Gabriel Stilp Hitech GP +26.742s
21 Yuanpu Cui Xcel Motorsport +27.141s
22 Maxi Restrepo Sainteloc Racing +28.310s
23 Tiago Rodrigues Xcel Motorsport +28.549s
24 Kaishun Liu Xcel Motorsport +28.599s
25 Nicolas Stati AGI Sport +28.798s
26 Everett Stack PHM Racing +31.801s
27 Yuhao Fu Pinnacle Motorsport +38.671s
28 Davide Larini PHM Racing +1m16.021s
Ret Deagen Fairclough Hitech GP
Ret Carrie Shreiner AGI Sport
Ret Tomass Stolcermanis Prema
Ret Raphael Narac Sainteloc Racing
Ret Alex Powell Mumbai Falcons
Fastest lap: Nakamura Berta, 2m02.868s

Championship standings
Slater 172   2 Nakamura Berta 168   3 Al Azhari 164   4 Al Dhaheri 153   5 Nikita Bedrin 124   6 Powell 105   7 Fairclough 75   8 Deligny 73   9 Stilp 73   10 Doriane Pin 66