Home Featured Foster significantly boosts his Indy Nxt title hopes with first win of year

Foster significantly boosts his Indy Nxt title hopes with first win of year

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Karl Zemlin

Louis Foster took his first Indy Nxt victory of the season ahead of Jacob Abel in the second race on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s road course.

Foster started from row two of the grid but came through to take a dominant win by more than two seconds. However, it was Caio Collet who led for most of the race.

The field ran four-wide at the start, with HMD Motorsports’ Collet coming out on top ahead of Abel Motorsports’ poleman Jacob Abel. Foster hung back in third while a strong start for Andretti Global team-mate Jamie Chadwick put her fourth.

The top three were relatively evenly matched, with the early battles happening further down the order. Foster was the first to break that up, passing Abel to take second and putting pressure on Collet for the lead.

Foster attempted a move around turn one, only to run wide and give Collet breathing room for a moment. He went back on the attack and managed to take the lead in the second half of the race. Championship leader Abel followed him past to knock Collet down to third.

Once Foster was up front, he quickly broke away. Abel could not keep up and finished 2.3688 seconds behind but extended his points lead.

After her strong start, Chadwick dropped backwards with gear-shifting issues limiting her pace. That promoted her team-mate James Roe Jr to fourth, and he closed in on Collet, finishing less than a second behind.

The closest and longest-lasting battle for most of the race was between Nolan Siegel, Myles Rowe and Michael d’Orlando. Siegel had briefly challenged Roe early on in the race, only to slip behind Rowe into what was then seventh place. He kept on the back of Rowe, but had d’Orlando close behind. A moment on the grass for Siegel after going side-by-side with another car almost took him out of the fight, but he managed to hold on. He came through to take the lead of the battle, finishing fifth with d’Orlando taking sixth in what could be his last Indy Nxt start as he is on a race-by-race deal.

Jonathan Browne came home eighth, just ahead of Salvador de Alba and Callum Hedge.

Race result (35 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Louis Foster Andretti Global 45m08.4692s
2 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports +2.3688s
3 Caio Collet HMD Motorsports +9.6159s
4 James Roe Jr Andetti Global +10.3576s
5 Nolan Siegel HMD Motorsports +10.4305s
6 Michael d’Orlando Andretti Cape +11.0124s
7 Myles Rowe HMD Motorsports +17.2272s
8 Jonathan Browne HMD Motorsports +21.1197s
9 Salvador de Alba Andretti Cape +22.0160s
10 Callum Hedge HMD Motorsports +25.1580s
11 Reece Gold HMD Motorsports +25.5394s
12 Josh Pierson HMD Motorsports +27.9732s
13 Jordan Missig Abel Motorsports +28.4549s
14 Niels Koolen HMD Motorsports +28.8641s
15 Christian Bogle HMD Motorsports +37.2777s
16 Jamie Chadwick Andretti Global +42.5072s
17 Nolan Allaer HMD Motorsports +44.7596s
18 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Racing +46.9636s
19 Bryce Aron Andretti Global +46.4279s
20 Lindsay Brewer Juncos Hollinger Racing +1m02.7071s
Ret Yuven Sundaramoorthy Abel Motorsports +1m17.0366s
Fastest lap: Foster, 1m16.4351s

Championship standings
1 Abel 189   2 Siegel 165   3 Foster 142   4 Rowe 108   5 Collet 106   6 d’Orlando 104   7 Roe 96   8 Gold 96   9 Hedge 93   10 Browne 92