Home Formula 4French F4 Foster holds off Giltaire for victory in third French F4 race at Nogaro

Foster holds off Giltaire for victory in third French F4 race at Nogaro

by Roger Gascoigne

Image: FFSA TV

Kevin Foster took his first victory in cars after controlling the third French Formula 4 race of the weekend at Nogaro.

The Canadian jumped polesitter and race one winner Evan Giltaire at the start to snatch the lead into Turn 1 and was able to hold the gap to his pursuer at around a second to the finish. Giltaire narrowed the gap slightly in the closing stages but was unable to challenge Foster out front.

The race was immediately neutralised following an incident which pitched Yani Stevenheydens into the gravel at Turn 2 at the start, with Frank Porte Ruiz’s damaged car pulling off along the main straight under yellows.

Foster judged the restart perfectly as the safety car pulled in at the end of the third lap with Giltaire resisting a challenge from Enzo Richer, who had passed Romain Andriolo for third before the safety car appeared.

The two leaders quickly extended the gap to their pursuers, now headed by Andriolo, who had found a way back past Richer.

Andriolo came under pressure from Richer and a fast-starting Enzo Peugeot, with the three running in close company for the duration of the race, although the tight Nogaro circuit made overtaking difficult.

Andriolo held on to take the final podium position but such was the pace of the leaders that he crossed the line over eight seconds behind Foster after 14 laps.

Having briefly lost sixth to Pol Lopez, Hiyu Yamakoshi was able to quickly regain the position, pulling out a comfortable gap by the finish, while Lopez found himself battling with Garrett Berry and Karel Schulz, who had disposed of both Garrett Berry and Max Reis as he fought his way onto the group’s tail.

Race result (14 laps)
Pos Driver Time
1 Kevin Foster 14 laps
2 Evan Giltaire +1.149s
3 Romain Andriolo +8.263s
4 Enzo Richer +8.912s
5 Enzo Peugeot +9.243s
6 Hiyu Yamakoshi +15.306s
7 Pol Lopez +21.396s
8 Garrett Berry +21.958s
9 Karel Schulz +22.520s
10 Max Reis +22.946s
11 Leonardo Megna +26.603s
12 Adrien Closmenil +27.033s
13 Joao Paulo Diaz Balesteiro +27.454s
14 Jason Leung +29.921s
15 Edouard Borgna +30.410s
16 Edgar Pierre +32.166s
17 Gabriel Doyle-Parfait +32.652s
18 Luca Savu +36.501s
19 Louis Schlesser +37.915s
20 Paul Alberto +38.260s
21 Finn Wiebelhaus +47.433s
22 Andrei Duna +59.416s
23 Yaroslav Veselaho +1m08.591s
Ret Tom Kalender
Ret Yani Stevenheydens
Ret Frank Porte Ruiz
Fastest lap: Foster, 1m28.384s

Championship standings
1 Giltaire 54   2 Foster 45   3 Peugeot 37   4 Lopez 30   5 Andriolo 29   6 Richer 24   7 Yamakoshi 16   8 Stevenheydens 11   9 Savu 8   10 Reis 5