Home Formula 3GB3 Fortec’s Faria fastest in BRDC British F3 testing at Silverstone

Fortec’s Faria fastest in BRDC British F3 testing at Silverstone

by Ida Wood

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Fortec Motorsports’ Roberto Faria set the pace on BRDC British Formula 3’s pre-event test day at Silverstone.

The Brazilian was fastest in both of the day’s 45-minute afternoon sessions, with two other sessions held in the morning where Hitech GP’s Reece Ushijima and Arden’s Frederick Lubin were fastest respectively.

It was a fairly drama-free morning, although Elite Motorsport’s Javier Sagrera did cause an early red flag stoppage.

Despite the arrival of moisture in the air in session two, Lubin lowered the pace to 1m55.497s, a benchmark that almost lasted until the end of the day. Hitech’s Bart Horsten was just 0.081 seconds slower than Lubin in second place, with Ushijima in third. Also setting their personal best laptime that session was Bryce Aron (Carlin) and Max Marzorati (Chris Dittmann Racing).

Faria headed Douglas Motorsport’s Dexter Patterson in both of the afternoon sessions, the first time around by almost a quarter of a second and then just by 0.037s in the final session. The fastest lap of the day was set with five minutes to go, and meant the overall top three was spread by less than a tenth of a second.

The top 14 were all within a second, although down in 13th was CDR’s Ayrton Simmons – the winner of the opening race of the season – who was the only driver to set his personal best lap in session three (while most were quicker later in the day).

Test results

Pos Name Team Time
1 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports 1m55.440s
2 Dexter Patterson Douglas Motorsport +0.037s
3 Frederick Lubin Arden +0.057s
4 Bart Horsten Hitech GP +0.138s
5 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP +0.301s
6 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin +0.321s
7 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport +0.371s
8 Alex Connor Arden +0.373s
9 Sebastian Alvarez Hitech GP +0.495s
10 Javier Sagrera Elite Motorsport +0.571s
11 Bryce Aron Carlin +0.677s
12 Christian Mansell Carlin +0.685s
13 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing +0.759s
14 Jorge Garfias Elite Motorsport +0.888s
15 Reema Juffali Douglas Motorsport +1.371s
16 Maz Marzorati Chris Dittmann Racing +1.413s
17 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports +2.323s