Home Featured Fittipaldi tops red-flagged F2 practice at Red Bull Ring

Fittipaldi tops red-flagged F2 practice at Red Bull Ring

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Red Bull Content Pool

Rodin Carlin’s Enzo Fittipaldi was fastest in Formula 2 free practice at the Red Bull Ring, with running curtailed by two late red flag stoppages.

Roy Nissany set the early pace in the 45-minute session with a 1m16.539s, his lap 0.025 seconds quicker than that of Fittipaldi.

Theo Pourchaire momentarily moved to the top with a 1m16.124s before his ART Grand Prix team-mate Victor Martins lapped over 0.3s faster.

Fittipaldi then exchanged top spot with Martins, initially recording a 1m15.524s before improving to 1m15.216s to beat Martins’ new best by 0.184s.

Pourchaire, who had slipped back to 16th, spun to a halt with little more than 10 minutes remaining after dipping a wheel in the gravel exiting turn four.

That caused a brief red flag period, with the action resuming with five minutes left on the clock. But a spin for Amaury Cordeel at turn one brought the red flags out again before anyone could complete a flying lap, with the session not resuming.

Points leader Frederik Vesti was almost 0.4s shy of Fittipaldi’s pace in third, while Hitech GP driver Isack Hadjar was fourth.

Vesti’s Prema team-mate Ollie Bearman, winner last time out at Barcelona, was 11th. The top 21 drivers were separated by one second.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Enzo Fittipaldi Carlin 1m15.216s 15
2 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m15.400s +0.184s 15
3 Frederik Vesti Prema 1m15.608s +0.392s 17
4 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP 1m15.639s +0.423s 14
5 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m15.718s +0.502s 19
6 Kush Maini Campos Racing 1m15.785s +0.569s 12
7 Arthur Leclerc DAMS 1m15.791s +0.575s 18
8 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport 1m15.802s +0.586s 16
9 Jack Doohan Virtuosi Racing 1m15.856s +0.640s 18
10 Clement Novalak Trident 1m15.862s +0.646s 17
11 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m15.865s +0.649s 17
12 Richard Verschoor Van Amersfoort Racing 1m15.878s +0.662s 19
13 Amaury Cordeel Virtuosi Racing 1m15.882s +0.666s 18
14 Zane Maloney Carlin 1m15.901s +0.685s 18
15 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m15.906s +0.690s 11
16 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m15.927s +0.711s 15
17 Jehan Daruvala MP Motorsport 1m15.928s +0.712s 17
18 Roman Stanek Trident 1m16.024s +0.808s 18
19 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m16.034s +0.818s 14
20 Roy Nissany PHM by Charouz 1m16.117s +0.901s 17
21 Juan Manuel Correa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m16.224s +1.008s 20
22 Brad Benavide PHM by Charouz 1m16.491s +1.275s 19