Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Camara collects his first FREC win in Spa race one

Camara collects his first FREC win in Spa race one

by Ida Wood

Photo: Sebastiaan Roozendaal / DPPA

Prema’s Rafael Camara led lights-to-flag for his first Formula Regional European Championship win at Spa-Francorchamps.

Camara briefly came under attack from R-ace GP’s Tim Tramnitz into Les Combes on lap one, then had to look in his mirrors again on lap eight during a safety restart. The safety car had been out after Enzo Scionti got stuck in the gravel at La Source.

The gap between Camara and Tramnitz had grown to 1.2 seconds when the safety car appeared again on lap 11 due to a collision between MP Motorsport’s Sami Meguetounif and Van Amersfoort Racing’s Joshua Dufek resulting in the former being tipped over the latter and then into the gravel.

Racing resumed on the 13th and final lap, and Camara led home Tramnitz by 0.788s.

R-ace’s Martinius Stenshorne extended his points lead in third, and closest rival Andrea Kimi Antonelli finished behind him in fourth. He was unable to pressure Stenshorne at the finish due to locking up at La Source.

Antonelli’s Prema team-mate Lorenzo Fluxa finished just behind him in fifth.

Most of the action took place outside of the top six, with Victor Bernier and Maya Weug banging wheels as they fought for what would eventually be seventh and eighth. Santiago Ramos passed Joshua Duerksen and Mikhael Belov on the final lap for ninth, while Dufek survived his Meguetounif contact to finish 14th.

Giovanni Maschio finished 24th despite spinning on lap two, and Kirill Smal’s race ended in the pits on lap five.

Race results (13 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Rafael Camara Prema
2 Tim Tramnitz R-ace GP +0.788s
3 Martinius Stenshorne R-ace GP +1.712s
4 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema +2.289s
5 Lorenzo Fluxa Prema +2.952s
6 Maceo Capietto R-P-M +3.439s
7 Victor Bernier MP Motorsport +3.853s
8 Maya Weug KIC Motorsport +4.567s
9 Santiago Ramos R-P-M +5.783s
10 Joshua Duerksen Arden +5.898s
11 Mikhael Belov G4 Racing +6.436s
12 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing +6.912s
13 Roman Bilinski Trident +7.734s
14 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing +8.089s
15 Nikhil Bohra Trident +8.549s
16 Hadrien David ART Grand Prix +9.166s
17 Esteban Masson Sainteloc Racing +9.302s
18 Tom Lebbon Arden +9.958s
19 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix +10.577s
20 Matias Zagazeta R-ace GP +10.769s
21 Marcus Amand ART Grand Prix +11.131s
22 Levente Revesz Arden +11.881s
23 Owen Tangavelou Trident +12.486s
24 Giovanni Maschio Monolite Racing +13.333s
25 Adam Fitzgerald R-P-M +14.152s
26 Emmo Fittipaldi Sainteloc Racing +14.353s
27 Lucas Medina Sainteloc Racing +14.814s
28 Alex Partyshev KIC Motorsport +14.975s
29 Niels Koolen Van Amersfoort Racing +15.693s
Ret Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport
Ret Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport
Ret Alessandro Giusti G4 Racing
Ret Enzo Scionti Monolite Racing
Ret Kirill Smal Monolite Racing
Fastest lap: Camara, 2m16.689s

Championship standings
1 Stenshorne 114   2 Antonelli 84   3 Tramnitz 80   4 Haverkort 68   5 Camara 55   6 Fluxa 54   7 Dufek 42   8 Capietto 42   9 Ramos 41   10 Meguetounif 21