Home Formula 4British F4 Fairclough earns second British F4 win at Donington

Fairclough earns second British F4 win at Donington

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Deagen Fairclough won a wet reversed-grid British Formula 4 race at Donington Park ahead of championship contender Will Macintyre. 

The Rokit Race Stars winner took the race lead after a wide moment for Isaac Barashi and was unstoppable at the front of the order. He finished more than seven seconds ahead of second place. 

Kai Daryanani started from pole position but it was the strong-starting Barashi who was in the lead at the end of lap one. He had broken a small gap to Fairclough in second when the safety car was brought out for an incident between Gustav Jonsson and Josh Irfan that left both cars in the gravel.  

Barashi held onto the lead at the restart but a wide moment over the kerbs allowed Fairclough to come through to first. He held onto second and was comfortable in that position as Jack Sherwood, Daryanani and Macintyre battled for third. Macintyre briefly took third, only for Sherwood to come back and take the position. 

Once Sherwood was ahead, he closed the gap to Barashi, bringing Macintyre with him, and was fighting to find a way through. The battle continued into the penultimate lap when Barashi span, making contact with Sherwood and damaging the Chris Dittmann Racing driver’s front wing. 

Macintyre avoided the incident to come through to second, but was too far back to challenge Fairclough on the final lap. 

Noah Lisle managed to avoid the drama to come through to third, while a last lap move allowed Louis Sharp to jump from sixth to fourth, having started 21st.

Freddie Slater climbed up through the order to finish fifth in his second Formula 4 race, ahead of Aqil Alibhai and Gabriel Stilp. 

Daryanani dropped to eighth by the chequered flag, while Dion Gowda and Griffin Peebles completed the top 10. 

Race result (11 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Deagen Fairclough JHR Developments 21m22.438s
2 William Macintyre Hitech GP +7.186s
3 Noah Lisle Carlin +10.212s
4 Louis Sharp Carlin +11.178s
5 Freddie Slater Double R Racing +12.504s
6 Aqil Alibhai Virtuosi Racing +12.520s
7 Gabriel Stilp Hitech GP +13.279s
8 Kai Daryanani Virtuosi Racing +13.729s
9 Dion Gowda Carlin +14.041s
10 Griffin Peebles Argenti Motorsport +15.164s
11 James Higgins Fortec Motorsports +15.724s
12 James Piszcyk Hitech GP +17.006s
13 Kanato Le Hitech GP +17.251s
14 Tom Mills JHR Developments +18.684s
15 Douwe Dedecker Virtuosi Racing +23.245s
16 Alvise Rodella Argenti Motorsport +23.945s
17 Mika Abrahams Fortec Motorsports +29.050s
18 Isaac Barashi Argenti Motorsport +49.022s
19 Jack Sherwood Chris Dittmann Racing +1 lap
Ret Josh Irfan Carlin
Ret Gustav Jonsson Chris Dittmann Racing
Ret Patrick Heuzenroeder Argenti Motorsport
Fastest lap: Macintyre, 1m40.425s

Championship standings
1 Sharp 320   2 Macintyre 318   3 Fairclough 232   4 Gowda 230   5 Higgins 198   6 Piszcyk 184   7 Le 181   8 Lisle 153   9 Alibhhai 137   10 Jonsson 128