Home News Esterson takes controlled win ahead of Moyers in Walter Hayes heat two

Esterson takes controlled win ahead of Moyers in Walter Hayes heat two

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Ida Wood

Ammonite Motorsport’s Max Esterson comfortably won the second heat at the Walter Hayes Trophy ahead of Michael Moyers and Team USA Scholar William Ferguson.

After lining up on pole, defending Walter Hayes winner Esterson had contact into Copse and lost several places, with his team-mate Ferguson leading at the end of lap one after starting sixth.

Esterson recovered to fourth at the final corner of the opening lap behind Brandon McCaughan and Moyers, and then swiftly picked off the top three to be leading Moyers by the time they reached Brooklands for a second time.

Moyers initally kept Esterson in his sights before the latter edged clear to win by 3.941 seconds.

Ferguson claimed the final podium spot and held off the recovering Andrew Rackstraw, the Kevin Mills Racing driver having dropped as low as 15th before charging back up the order to fourth.

David McCullough managed to fend off Team Canada scholar Jake Cowden for fifth, while KMR’s Michael Eastwell recovered from an early off from a three-wide moment at Brooklands to take seventh.

FF1600 returnee James Clarke was eighth ahead of Oldfield Motorsport’s Brandon McCaughan who ran third early on before his moment with Eastwell, and eventually slipped back to ninth.

B-M Racing’s Sam Gornall was 10th ahead of Joe Watts and Robert Wainwright.

Moments after Eastwell was ran off at Brooklands, his KMR team-mates Alex Vos and Josh Le Roux had an incident at Luffield that caused both to spin to the back of the field.

Race result (8 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Max Esterson Ammonite Motorsport 9m23.214s
2 Michael Moyers Simon Hadfield Motorsport +3.941s
3 William Ferguson Ammonite Motorsport +7.245s
4 Andrew Rackstraw Kevin Mills Racing +7.753s
5 David McCullough Team DDR +8.177s
6 Jake Cowden Graham Brunton Racing +8.433s
7 Michael Eastwell Kevin Mills Racing +8.733s
8 James Clarke Engima Motorsport +11.874s
9 Brandon McCaughan Oldfield Motorsport +12.177s
10 Sam Gornall B-M Racing +16.097s
11 Joe Watts Team Fox Racing +16.756s
12 Robert Wainwright Privateer +21.280s
13 Richard Davison Souley Motorsport +25.724s
14 Jake Shortland Privateer +27.559s
15 Rick Morris Don Hardman Racing +28.390s
16 Drew Cameron B-M Racing +28.725s
17 Andre Ames Sema Racing +29.376s
18 Josh Le Roux Kevin Mills Racing +29.803s
19 James Sweetnam Simon Hadfield Motorsport +31.322s
20 Benn Tilley Simon Hadfield Motorsport +31.955s
21 Mike Gardner GT Motorsport +34.910s
22 Chris Middlehurst Team Dolan +41.994s
23 Ted Pearson Nigel Grant Motorsport +42.631s
24 Alex Vos Kevin Mills Racing +46.987s
25 Garath Buckingham Souley Motorsport +47.124s
26 Bob Hawkins TM Racing +57.454s
27 Sam Mitchell Wayne Poole Racing w/RHE +58.703s
28 Adrian Reynard Border Reivers +1m02.913s
Ret Nigel Thompson Oldfield Motorsport
Fastest lap: Esterson, 1m09.323s