Home Formula 4French F4 Enzo Peugeot wins French F4’s reversed-grid Spa race

Enzo Peugeot wins French F4’s reversed-grid Spa race

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: KSP Reportages

Enzo Peugeot won the reversed-grid French Formula 4 race at Spa-Francorchamps on Saturday as the title fight tightened up.

Peugeot started third and a slow start from the pole-sitting Garrett Berry meant the top three went three-wide into the opening corner. One driver got their nose ahead before Raidillon, but then there was side-by-side action for the lead again down the Kemmel Straight and Peugeot put himself ahead of Berry and Romain Andriolo.

He spent the rest of the race with just enough of a gap out of the last and then first corners to avoid succumbing to the slipstream effect down the Kemmel Straight, although on the last lap he had to resist Andriolo’s attacks at Les Combes.

Berry held second place until lap five of 10, when Andriolo passed at the start of the lap and then Edgar Pierre made a diving move at the Bus Stop chicane and managed to make it work exiting the corner,

Pierre and Berry then went wheel-to-wheel all the way from the Kemmel Straight to beyond Bruxelles on lap six and Berry regained third, but a charging Hiyu Yamakoshi from eighth on the grid was soon on his tail after he passed Pierre on lap seven.

Peugeot won by 0.617 seconds over Andriolo, while Berry held on to third by 0.799s ahead of Pierre who battled back past Yamakoshi.

Evan Giltaire had his points lead reduced in seventh place, with fellow title contender Kevin Foster in eighth after Adrien Closmenil dropped to 10th on the last lap.

Race result (10 laps)
Pos Driver Time
1 Enzo Peugeot 24m34.457s
2 Romain Andriolo +0.617s
3 Garrett Berry +4.706s
4 Edgar Pierre +5.505s
5 Hiyu Yamakoshi +5.747s
6 Yani Stevenheydens +6.655s
7 Evan Giltaire +6.990s
8 Kevin Foster +7.908s
9 Jason Leung +8.317s
10 Adrien Closmenil +9.150s
11 Max Reis +10.815s
12 Andrei Duna +11.346s
13 Enzo Richer +13.233s
14 Frank Porte Ruiz +13.394s
15 Tom Kalender +15.078s
16 Leonardo Megna +26.098s
17 Paul Alberto +26.609s
18 Finn Wiebelhaus +28.308s
19 Pol Lopez +30.812s
20 Yaroslav Veselaho +34.073s
21 Luca Savu +37.089s
22 Joao Paulo Diaz Balesteiro +48.051s
23 Gabriel Doyle-Parfait +2 laps
Ret Edouard Borgna
Ret Karen Schulz
Ret Louis Schlesser
Fastest lap: Yamakoshi, 2m26.426s

Championship standings
1 Giltaire 156   2 Peugeot 153   3 Foster 102   4 Andriolo 101   5 Yamakoshi 89   6 Stevenheydens 66   7 Berry 53   8 Lopez 52   9 Richer 38   10 Megna 31