Home Featured Edgar wins season-ending F3 feature race at Monza

Edgar wins season-ending F3 feature race at Monza

by Peter Allen

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Jonny Edgar survived several restarts to score his first Formula 3 win in the final race of the 2023 season at Monza.

Zak O’Sullivan finished second to secure the same place in the drivers’ championship as his Prema team clinched the teams’ title.

Trident driver Oliver Goethe had been due to start from pole position but pulled off after the formation lap reporting a throttle issue – causing an aborted start.

Caio Collet therefore led the field when the race got underway, staying ahead of Edgar and champion Gabriel Bortoleto. The first of four safety car periods was then triggered when Franco Colapinto stopped after contact – effectively ending his hopes of holding on to second in the championship.

MP Motorsport’s Edgar took the lead from Collet at the start of lap six of 21, just as O’Sullivan climbed up into third while Bortoleto went deep at the Retifillo chicane. He went off at Roggia too, and then made small contact with Gregoire Saucy at Lesmo that caused the ART Grand Prix driver to go off with a puncture, causing the second safety car intervention.

At the restart, Collet went around the outside of Edgar in the Roggia, only for Edgar to fight back past into Lesmo. They would swap places again in two consecutive laps before the third safety car interruption, caused when Sebastian Montoya was tapped into the Roggia gravel by contact from Hitech team-mate Gabriele Mini.

Edgar was again under pressure at the restart but when Collet went deep into turn one, O’Sullivan went around his outside in turn two, then ran side-by-side with Edgar for the lead into Roggia.

Behind them, Pepe Marti was spun around in Curva Grande as he returned to the racing line after cutting the first chicane. That eliminated another driver from the battle for runners-up honours, with Ido Cohen also ending up in the gravel in avoidance.

The final safety car restart came with just a lap to go and Edgar managed to this time create a sizeable gap to O’Sullivan, and he held on to win by 0.2 seconds at the line.

Taylor Barnard meanwhile passed Collet around the outside at Lesmo to make it an all-British podium, and lift himself up into the championship top 10 at season’s end.

Bortoleto was fifth with Mari Boya sixth. Paul Aron had dropped back after being forced into the gravel by Leonardo Fornaroli at the second restart but recovered to finish seventh, enough to put him third in the final points ahead of Colapinto and Marti.

Race result (21 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport 47m95.178s
2 Zak O’Sullivan Prema +0.287s
3 Taylor Barnard Jenzer Motorsport +0.825s
4 Caio Collet Van Amersfoort Racing +1.047s
5 Gabriel Bortoleto Trident +1.515s
6 Mari Boya MP Motorsport +1.945s
7 Paul Aron Prema +2.136s
8 Christian Mansell Campos Racing +2.911s
9 Dino Beganovic Prema +3.383s
10 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing +3.692s
11 Michael Shin PHM by Charouz +6.107s
12 Francesco Simonazzi Carlin +6.735s
13 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix +6.936s
14 Sophia Floersch PHM by Charouz +7.616s
15 Joshua Dufek Campos Racing +7.655s
16 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident +8.191s
17 Ollie Gray Carlin +8.405s
18 Luke Browning Hitech GP +11.276s
19 Gabriele Mini Hitech GP +21.142s
20 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing +53.990s
21 Alex Garcia Jenzer Motorsport +1 lap
22 Roberto Faria PHM by Charouz +3 laps
Ret Nikita Bedrin Jenzer Motorsport
Ret Pepe Marti Campos Racing
Ret Ido Cohen Carlin
Ret Sebastian Montoya Hitech GP
Ret Kaylen Frederick ART Grand Prix
Ret Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix
Ret Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport
Ret Oliver Goethe Trident
Fastest lap: Bortoleto, 1m40.042s

Championship standings
Bortoleto 164   2 O’Sullivan 119   3 Aron 112   4 Colapinto 110   5 Marti 105   Beganovic 96   Mini 92   8 Goethe 75   10 Collet 73   9 Barnard 72