Home Featured Drugovich fastest as focus moves to race runs on last morning of F2 test

Drugovich fastest as focus moves to race runs on last morning of F2 test

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Felipe Drugovich led Clement Novalak in an MP Motorsport one-two on the final morning of Formula 2 pre-season testing at Bahrain.

There was a gap of almost a second between Drugovich and Novalak at the top of the times, with the benchmark lap being set early in the session before teams switched their focus to completing race simulations.

Drugovich had actually been one of the first to set a representative flying lap, his 1m44.911s lap bringing the pace down considerably from the two-minute territory it had been in prior.

Campos Racing’s Olli Caldwell very briefly went fastest with a 1m59.680s before Drugovich’s fast lap, and for a long time the order stood as Drugovich, Novalak and Prema’s Dennis Hauger as the top three.

Reigning FIA Formula 3 champion Hauger, who was over two seconds slower than Drugovich, was shuffled down to sixth by the time the session was halted by red flags with 11 minutes to go, with Hitech GP’s Juri Vips now in third but but more than a second off Drugovich’s pace still.

There was only one improvement in the short period of green flag running after the stoppage, as Carlin’s Liam Lawson jumped from 10th to fourth place ahead of team-mate Logan Sargeant.

DAMS’ Roy Nissany was the last driver within two seconds of Drugovich in sixth, with a three-second spread covering the top 13. Theo Pourchaire completed the most running, with the ART Grand Prix fitting in 56 laps during the session.

Morning session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m44.911s 24
2 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 1m45.883s +0.972s 22
3 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m45.978s +1.067s 50
4 Liam Lawson Carlin 1m46.114s +1.203s 46
5 Logan Sargeant Carlin 1m46.761s +1.850s 45
6 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m46.791s +1.880s 50
7 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m46.979s +2.068s 49
8 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m47.235s +2.324s 56
9 Jack Doohan Virtuosi 1m47.377s +2.466s 47
10 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m47.465s +2.554s 45
11 Jake Hughes Van Amersfoort Racing 1m47.498s +2.587s 42
12 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m47.590s +2.679s 54
13 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m47.800s +2.889s 46
14 Amaury Cordeel Van Amersfoort Racing 1m47.944s +3.033s 43
15 Jehan Daruvala Prema 1m47.992s +3.081s 48
16 Marino Sato Virtuosi 1m48.346s +3.435s 53
17 Calan Williams Trident 1m48.456s +3.545s 40
18 Olli Caldwell Campos Racing 1m48.805s +3.894s 46
19 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m48.807s +3.896s 39
20 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m49.084s +4.173s 32
21 Cem Bolukbasi Charouz Racing System 1m49.519s +4.608s 19
22 Marcus Armstrong Hitech GP 1m49.839s +4.928s 32