Home Featured Drugovich ends 2021 F2 season on top of Abu Dhabi testing

Drugovich ends 2021 F2 season on top of Abu Dhabi testing

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

MP Motorsport’s Felipe Drugovich topped the final Formula 2 running of the year by heading the timesheets in the afternoon of the last day of Yas Marina testing.

It was Trident’s Teppei Nattori who really got the afternoon session going, before being overhauled by Van Amersfoort Racing’s Cem Bolukbasi – the first driver to dip into the 1m37s bracket – who really started to set the hot laps first.

There was then a red flag for an oil spill. As the first hour concluded of the three-hour session, it was the returning Juan Manuel Correa who took to the top and stayed there for three-quarters of an hour.

Hitech GP’s Juri Vips had a stint at the top of the timings, before being overhauled by VAR rookie Amaury Cordeel.

It was then Prema Racing’s Jehan Daruvala who smashed through the 1m37s barrier before Drugovich came through to beat him by three-tenths of a second.

The Brazilian then shaved further fractions away from his time to end with a 1m36.342s to round out the year with less than 20 minutes to go. The time was slower than that set by Virtuosi Racing’s Jack Doohan in the morning session.

Across the board, times were generally slower and there was a big gap between the times throughout the field, suggesting teams were likely on very different programmes during the final opportunity to work on track this year.

There was a late (but brief) red flag, as ART Grand Prix’s Frederik Vesti came to a stop. It was the final of the three stoppages, with the second stoppage also due to a car stopped on track.

Daruvala improved but ultimately came just over a tenth shy of the top spot, ahead of top F2 newcomer Dennis Hauger, who left it late to go towards the top.

Vips, DAMS’ Roy Nissany, Cordeel and Hitech’s Marcus Armstrong rounded out the top seven, while MP’s Clement Novalak, Correa and Bolukbasi rounded out the top 10.

Test results
Pos Name Team Time Gap Laps
1 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m36.342s 43
2 Jehan Daruvala Prema 1m36.457s +0.115s 39
3 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m36.838s +0.496s 41
4 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m37.002s +0.660s 56
5 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m37.026s +0.684s 46
6 Amaury Cordeel Van Amersfoort Racing 1m37.252s +0.910s 44
7 Marcus Armstrong Hitech GP 1m37.379s +1.037s 50
8 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 1m37.526s +1.184s 32
9 Juan Manuel Correa Charouz Racing System 1m37.759s +1.417s 50
10 Cem Bolukbasi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m37.818s +1.476s 46
11 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m37.836s +1.494s 43
12 Calan Williams Trident 1m37.946s +1.604s 55
13 Teppei Natori Trident 1m38.060s +1.718s 53
14 Olli Caldwell Campos Racing 1m38.139s +1.797s 35
15 Jack Doohan Virtuosi 1m38.798s +2.456s 55
16 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m39.051s +2.709s 53
17 Logan Sargeant Carlin 1m39.205s +2.863s 41
18 Liam Lawson Carlin 1m39.409s +3.067s 25
19 Guilherme Samaia Charouz Racing System 1m39.558s +3.216s 45
20 Marino Sato Virtuosi 1m39.692s +3.350s 53
21 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m39.735s +3.393s 53
22 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m40.233s +3.891s 12