Home News D’Orlando breaks nine-year USF2000 track record with Mid-Ohio pole

D’Orlando breaks nine-year USF2000 track record with Mid-Ohio pole

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography/Road to Indy

Cape Motorsports’ Michael d’Orlando kept his narrow USF2000 title hopes alive by breaking a long-standing track record at Mid-Ohio.

D’Orlando did so in qualifying for race one of the weekend, taking the top spot on his first run before fresh tyres led to further laptime improvements across the grid. With the penultimate lap of his second run, he was able to set a new record pace around the circuit for the series.

Getting pole position means he cuts Kiko Porto’s championship lead to 48 points, with 65 available for the rest of the weekend and drivers taking one point for merely starting Saturday’s race.

DEForce Racing’s Porto struggled to trouble the top five in qualifying. He was seventh in the first run and could only improve to sixth with his final effort.

Behind d’Orlando was Pabst Racing’s Yuven Sundaramoorthy and practice pacesetter Jace Denmark, both fairly close to the pace.

DEForce’s Prescott Campbell and Turn 3 Motorsport’s Josh Green rounded out the top five ahead of Porto.

Porto will have team-mate Nolan Siegel and Pabst’s Josh Pierson right behind, while Cape’s Thomas Nepveu, an early pacesetter, and Force Indy’s Myles Rowe rounded out the top 10 – the latter having set his best time with his final effort.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports 1m20.1824s 13
2 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing 1m20.244s +0.0618s 11
3 Jace Denmark Pabst Racing 1m20.2845s +0.1021s 13
4 Prescott Campbell DEForce Racing 1m20.3839s +0.2015s 13
5 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport 1m20.4775s +0.2951s 11
6 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing 1m20.5068s +0.3244s 13
7 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing 1m20.5199s +0.3375s 12
8 Josh Pierson Pabst Racing 1m20.5645s +0.3821s 13
9 Thomas Nepveu Cape Motorsports 1m20.6546s +0.4722s 13
10 Myles Rowe Force Indy 1m20.6576s +0.4752s 12
11 Spike Kohlbecker Cape w/ Ignite Autosports 1m20.7136s +0.5312s 13
12 Christian Weir Turn 3 Motorsport 1m20.9013s +0.7189s 12
13 Dylan Christie Turn 3 Motorsport 1m20.9648s +0.7824s 12
14 Ely Navarro DEForce Racing 1m21.1818s +0.9994s 11
15 Evan Stamer Cape w/ Ignite Autosports 1m21.2432s +1.0608s 13
16 Bijoy Garg JHDD 1m21.3509s +1.1685s 13
17 Andre Castro Legacy Autosport 1m21.4259s +1.2435s 8
18 Jackson Lee JHDD 1m21.4974s +1.3150s 12
19 Billy Frazer Exclusive Autosport 1m21.5977s +1.4153s 12
20 Kent Vaccaro Miller Vinatieri Motorsports 1m21.7585s +1.5761s 13
21 Trey Burke Joe Dooling Autosports 1m22.2609s +2.0785s 12
22 Michael Myers Michael Myers Racing 1m22.3057s +2.1233s 14